We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aigues-Mortes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hermitage de Saint-Antoine
Ranked #1 of 24 Aigues-Mortes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A delightful stay.”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Four of us stayed here one night on a four week cycling holiday, and this was one of the most memorable places we stayed at. The old walled town is very interesting and this gem is located inside the walls, making access to the many attractions very easy. The host was kind and interesting, providing lots of information and insights which enhanced our visit. One of our party was celebrating a birthday and he presented her with a bottle of champagne! The breakfast featured mountains of fresh breads of many varieties accompanied by a superb platter of fresh fruit - the best breakfast of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PG_Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Absolutely perfect stay, everything we were looking for. This little Chambres d'Hotes is an absolute gem. When visiting Aigues Mortes you must stay inside the walled city and this is the place to stay. We stayed in an impeccably decorated and spotless room overlooking the wall of the city. Our host was most gracious and a font of information on the area. His breakfast was a highlight, the fruit plate a still life that van Beijeren would be thrilled to paint. Warning, any photos that you see of this charming place do not do it justice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Level Contributor
203 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

It's definitely hard to write something about Hermitage Saint Antoine... great location, great accueil, beautiful rooms, great everything!!
Is it enough to say that me and my husband before getting married we got there the first time at the beginning of november 2007, and then on december 29th 2007???
and sooner or later we'll be coming back!!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing to declare
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2007

Only stayed one night whlist cycling from Carcassonne to Montpellier and thought Aigues Morte worth a detour. Very comfortable, small, quiet house (no TV in rooms) in the old town. Minutes away from lots of restaurants and bars (even in November). We were told that free car parking can be arranged in the old town and our folding bikes were no problem. The owner, a Aussi, is very friendly and helpful and as he has been there for over 10 years knows all the things to do in the area. Aigues Morte is well worth a visit and I would think the (paid) tour of the Ramparts would be worth doing, although once you start you have to go the whole way round. We had a extrely nice meal in the sunshine (November in direct sunshine is nice) which was around thirteen euros each.

I would recommend Hermitage de Saint-Antoine if you would like a quite stay and ask the owner if he even brought the folding bike.

  • Liked — friendly
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roggieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Robert(?) Young, an Australian transplant, makes a terrific host for your visit to the 13th century walled town of Aigues-Mortes. His 3-room, virtually unmarked B&B is located a few buildings to the right of the Saint Antoine gate (the "in" gate for autos) and faces the wall. He has arranged for free parking in the crowded little town, normally costing 5 euros/hour.

Our pretty little room was very nicely decorated, art on the walls, and boasted a "real" shower, with a real shower curtain, and WASHCLOTHS! The powerful airconditioning was also much appreciated after a hot day of hiking in the Camargue. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable price of our room, and may have been the most elegant of our 3-week tour of Provence. In addition to the standard croissant, jam, and fresh orange juice, we were served a large plate of assorted fresh fruit and a basket of unusual and yummy sweet and non-sweet breads--all served in a lovely courtyard or in the open room adjoining.

Advice on restaurants, sight-seeing, etc. were available for the asking.

  • Liked — The friendliness and simple elegance
  • Disliked — Nothing--everything was nice
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTravelerK-ville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aigues-Mortes hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Mazarin
Villa Mazarin
#2 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Canal
Hotel Canal
#1 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel des 4 Vents
Hotel des 4 Vents
#3 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chez Carriere
Hotel Chez Carriere
#6 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#8 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage de Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage de Saint-Antoine

Property: Hermitage de Saint-Antoine
Address: 9 boulevard Interieur Nord, 30220, Aigues-Mortes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Aigues-Mortes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Aigues-Mortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in an atmosphere of simplicity but providing all modern amenities (including air-conditioning). A décor evoking the unique style of "the south of France". In the centre of the village of Aigues-Mortes (intra-muros) and directly in front of the medieval walls. Situated in two, small and authentic village houses with some rooms having a view onto the medieval walls of the town. Beautiful long sandy beaches on the Mediterranean are but a few minutes away (by car). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing