We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, Perfect staff”
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Canal
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Aigues-Mortes
Certificate of Excellence
exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location, Perfect staff”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I echo all that has been put in other reviews. The staff had many helpful tips for the city and surrounding countryside. Pool is a big bonus after a hot day of sightseeing. Breakfast is worth the 12 euros!

Room Tip: Canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keendevontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    213
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
78
372
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a lovely hotel overlooking the canal just a 5 minute stroll from the old city gates. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the hotel is immaculate. It has a small pool, and two terraces and is in a lovely quiet and peaceful location although really handy for all the restaurants, bars and shops of beautiful Aiges-Mortes old city. The lovely breakfasts (loved the choices of pastries and bread each day) are served up until 11am and check-out wasn't until mid-day. The care and attention to detail of the staff made this an excellent stay.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the canal are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Don't be worried by the rather dull looking exterior on the road frontage. The other side backing onto the canal is much more pleasant as is the outlook and the interior of the hotel is very modern, very clean and with lots of interesting artworks and lighting. The welcome was very friendly and included a map of Aigues Mortes and advice on what to see and restaurants. Our room was spacious overlooking the canal and really clean. Every room gets a large bottle of water every day which was welcome. Excellent WiFi. Tea and coffee making facilities would be nice though. Pool looked nice but the weather was'nt ! Breakfast at 12 euros was excellent - cereals, croissants, fruit, cheese, ham, jams, cakes.... etc and set you up for the day.
Hotel Canal really is only 5 mins walk into the town so is really convenient. Aigues Mortes is a lovely town - the walls are well worth walking ( total time including the tower about an hour), some nice shops and restaurants though most of the streets within the walls are just residential. There are boat trips on the canals but we did'nt partake. We did visit the Ornithological Park and that was good ( take binoculars if you have them ) but we did'nt like Saint Marie de la Mer ( a bit tacky). Plenty of white horses and black bulls to be seen - though don't think any of them are wild these days - there seemed to be too much fencing around for them to be wild - nonetheless good to see.
Very nice hotel - we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend whole heartedly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A beautiful hotel in a perfect spot and run by an incredibly friendly team. Second stay here last week; we were allowed to check-in early (we arrived early assuming we were going to dump our bags and walk into town), upgraded to a canal-side room and offered advice on the local area. The rooms are quiet and the pool is stunning! I shall definitely be staying here again!

Highly recommend the breakfast - 12Euros and fill your boots with the tastiest fresh pastries, cakes, fruit, cereal etc, out on the beautiful quiet terrace.

Room Tip: The Canalside rooms have a door leading straight onto the terrace where the pool is, which is lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadiahsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseillan, France
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We live in France and travel around on the rivers and canals on our house boat. A group of friends wanted to come to Aiges Mortes to see us and booked The Canal hotel from trip advisor. The hotel has a small private mooring which they kindly included in the deal for us to be able to moor near our friends.

For the week we were all here they could not have been more helpful. The rooms were super, breakfasts were buffet style and great. There is no restaurant here, but with 50 or so on the town that was to our advantage as we could explore the town together.

All in all highly recommendable.

Room Tip: Book rooms with a view of the river as the balconies also enter the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardKemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nothing has changed, it is still a charming hotel I would recommend again. Same as 2 years ago: but there was no "welcome drink" on the night of new year this time. Neverhteless, I am sure the owner will read this review and prepare something for 2015-2016 new year. My greetings to the owners who, I know, are dedicated and listening to TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Don't get thirsty, there is no mini-bar in the room but there is a large (red) fridge in the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Air_Palma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0TEL_CANAL, Responsable commercial at Hotel Canal, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your loyalty, your recommendations and advices. We are pleased to welcome you with your family, every year for New Year's Eve.
We are not sure to understand your request. During your last stay in 2012, we provided bottles of fresh water for our customers returning from their holiday meals. Since we thought it was nicer to offer this service every day of the year. That is why, since May 2013, we installed a big red refrigerator in self-service, for one bottle of water free, per room per night. As you point this fact, in your advice and tip. Again thank you to you. A soon!

Hotel Canal team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We loved our stay here and were sorry it was only for one night. Our room was on the canal side with a shared terrace and swimming pool outside (which we were told gets very noisy in the summer months!). The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us information on restaurants, boat trips etc. We decided to have breakfast at a local cafe rather than in the hotel, but in Aigues Mortes nothing much seemed to be open before 10. The bakery opens early though and has the most delicious pastries. We will definitely try to come back and stay here next year!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aigues-Mortes
0.6 mi away
Villa Mazarin
Villa Mazarin
#2 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des 4 Vents
Hotel des 4 Vents
#3 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Mas Des Sables
Le Mas Des Sables
#4 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#8 of 15 in Aigues-Mortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.1 mi away
L'Oustau Camarguen
L'Oustau Camarguen
#1 of 4 in Port Camargue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Property: Hotel Canal
Address: 440 route de Nimes, 30220, Aigues-Mortes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Aigues-Mortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aigues-Mortes
#1 Family Hotel in Aigues-Mortes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aigues-Mortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Canal is the hotel of contemporary charm of Aigues-Mortes. This boutique hotel with three stars consists of twenty five air conditioned rooms. Modern, friendly, with a relaxed atmosphere, originally built in the 1950's, Hotel Canal has been lovingly restored with a contemporary feel, for its reopening in 2005. Hotel Canal is located on the banks of the canal, which can be seen from its panoramic terrace and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Aigues Mortes
Canal Aigues Mortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing