We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the menu de marche”
Review of Au Louis IX

Au Louis IX
Ranked #19 of 129 Restaurants in Aigues-Mortes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Cuisine aux saveurs mediterraneennes revisitees changement de carte au rythme des saisons. Cadre agreable et calme au coeur d'une magnifique place au centre des remparts d'algues mortes .
Reviewed September 21, 2015

Fantastic value for a delicious meal. I had the menus de marche - three courses for €14.50. There is no choice (apart from the deserts) and what you get clearly depends on what was best value for the restaurant that day. In my case prawns followed by sea bass -both beautifully cooked and presented. Friendly staff and beautiful setting in an old square slightly off the beaten track.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank KAW998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 413 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

Having booked for 8 people unfortunately 6 of us were stuck in traffic and were arriving 30mins late. We phones to warn the restaurant and even gave our order to the 2 members of the party who had arrived on time. Before we could get to the restaurant we met our friends who had been thrown out as the party were not all there! The restaurant management were unapologetic and positively rude.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank alistairf988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015

The dinner was well prepared and rapidly served. The duck and kids menu was specifically delicious. Not very cheap, but good quality, nice and careful waiters. The restaurant is located on a square and unlike meany others there is a lot of air and no crowd, good for family with kids.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VolodymyrB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

Very pleased we tried this restaurant based on the interesting daily menu. It was very inexpensive and we were left feeing full but not overly so. The chicken brochette starters were good as were the main courses. My husband found his chocolate fondant the best chocolate desert he'd ever eaten. Service was swift and very polite. All in all a great experience.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank eddywatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2015

In such a small area as Aigues-Mortes, 40+ restaurants leave you spoiled for choice. Au Louis IX is not on the main square nor immediately adjacent, but it's well worth the walk of less than 10 minutes (adjacent main Post Office). (As an aside, the nearby Chapel of the Penitents, open for visits from time to time, is really interesting.) Staff welcoming and efficient, well shaded outside tables. The limited menu on the blackboard is fantastic value at only 14€50 for three courses, with choice of 2 for each course. And the dishes are not only well cooked and presented, but more creative than usually the case for such a low price menu. Was noticeably favoured by locals as well as tourists - good sign. Definitely recommend, definitely will go back and explore the full menu.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Louis IX also viewed

Aigues-Mortes, Gard
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
 
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
 
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
 

Been to Au Louis IX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing