We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A punjabi restaurant in the centre of Aigue Mortes in the Camargue”

Banaras Restaurant Indien
Ranked #15 of 129 Restaurants in Aigues-Mortes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 15, 2019

Great Indian cuisine and ambiance provided by the amazing Shakil and Perrine and their team who cook and serve wonderful authentic Punjabi food. Great fun and always a great evening.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank IrishFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 292 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2017

I visit Aigues-Mortes regularly but never went to Banaras until this year. It's simply great. We let Shakhil, the owner, order for us. He asked us what level of spiciness we wanted. Everything was super fresh. Service was fast and friendly. I rate Banaras as one of the nicest culinary surprises I have had in a long time. Thanks, Shakhil.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RogerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

The owner was aware that we preferred a spicier flavour and adjusted the strength accordingly. It still wasn't quite spicey enough but had very good flavours.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank AndrewKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

In Aigues Mortes 3 years ago, was recommended to go to Banaras - superb: quality of food and helpful staff. First choice for our holiday this year- not disappointed. Staff will discuss how ‘spicy’ you want your meal, excellent quality of food and range available on the menu. You will not be disappointed!!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank M5604XKianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

First time here. Heard good reviews on trip advisor, so decided to give it a try.
Not the best curry I've had. Lacking in something. No gorgeous spicy aromas coming from the kitchen like you'd expect from an Indian restaurant. Dry naan bread. No pompadoms. A lot of pings from the microwave. Didn't excite stall. Won't return sorry

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank dinacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banaras Restaurant Indien also viewed

Aigues-Mortes, Gard
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
 
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
Aigues-Mortes, Gard
 

Been to Banaras Restaurant Indien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing