We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and good typical French food”
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
Ranked #12 of 501 Restaurants in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

The food was good. We very much liked the goose liver and the steak hachee but we really enjoyed the service. The waiter did not really look like an average waiter (more like a rocker) but he noticed everything and had time to give real caring personal service. I wish all restaurants had this kinds of waitering people.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank WallyHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 343 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Our last night in France and a Monday when most restaurants are closed. Read the reviews on TA and it is right around the corner from our apartment so stopped in at lunch to make a reservation for dinner. Arrived at 7 - all tables were reserved and there were two single business men already there. We were warmly welcomed, menu was described to us in English. Varied menu of French dishes. We had duck salad and foie gras for the first course and pike for the main (green beans were wonderful). He had cheese for desert and I had the profiteroles. Probably could have done with only one of them but it was our last night. Many were turned away as they were booked and the on,y available tables were outside and it was rather chilly. Wine list limited but very reasonable. It was a wonderful way to end our trip.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank TennaRotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

I brought my 3 adult sons here prior to our visit to Versailles. It was our first night in France so we were totally jet-lagged and dazed and confused. What a great choice for us. Baptiste made us feel so welcome and could not have been more helpful and cheerful explaining the selections to us in excellent English. All of the food choices turned out excellent. The prices are more than reasonable. Even the music soundtrack got high scores from my young adult companions.

We were lucky to have dined here. Come early as the place gets swarmed by locals.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lafayette74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Our last evening in France before heading home to the UK was spent at this restaurant where we had the most fantastic meal. The food and service was really exceptional. They had a number of daily specials in addition to the regular menu and some very adventurous choices.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank KT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

We chose this restaurant based on Tripadvisor reviews and its proximity to our hotel. We had a table at the front, which was great on a warm evening. Our waiter was friendly and he spoke excellent English. He was able to advise knowledgably about the (French cafe-style) menu and he recommended a wine for us to try, from his home region. The desserts were all great, but I would warmly encourage you to try the profiteroles - large, filled with home-made vanilla ice cream and served with hot chocolate sauce. Mmmmm.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeorginaL142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Versailles, Yvelines
Versailles, Yvelines
 
Versailles, Yvelines
 
Versailles, Yvelines
Versailles, Yvelines
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing