We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
Ranked #45 of 423 Restaurants in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have eaten in hundreds of restaurants in Paris but on a day trip to Versailles I came across this jewel which I thoroughly recommend.
The welcome was genuine and friendly, the atmosphere, decor and overall ambiance was as nice as any I can remember.
And the food... Well it was outstanding. I had possibly the best Souris d'agneau that I have ever eaten.
I eat in restaurants all the time all over the world and few are memorable but I will always remember my experience at Le Cafe des Arts, Versailles.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    89
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Only ten minutes from the castle”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Cosy restaurant serving Angus beef, carpaccio of salmon and greaaatttt chocolate pudding. Just opposite the residence du Berry hotel. Free apperitif if you're staying at the hotel. The restaurant room is rather small but convivial. 30/40 € for a three course meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traduction87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Typical French Bistro-Locals eating here”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had an early dinner here in May. Enjoyed a starter of French sausage and followed it with lamb and a nice house wine. washed all down with a nice coffee au lait. Very good service and lots of locals munching away happily beside me. In a very nice quite district , near to Palace. Reasonable prices and nice staff in a basic bistro setting-nothing fancy. A recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Decent Value - Traditional Food”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived in Versailles fairly late on a Monday night. The town was very quiet and we were ready to choose the first restaurant that was open. We were delighted that we chose Café De Arts for a quick but satisfying meal. We shared a huge and delicious goat cheese salad entrée. My wife had the braised lamb and I had the duck. Each were perfectly prepared and delicious. With house wines (25cl) our total bill was $53Euro – perhaps a bit pricey but I think Versailles has Paris prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pcyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxted
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Meal in Versailles”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Restaurant was recommened for good food and good value we were told to book as the resteraunt can get very busy and it was.
Staff were very attentive and helpful and were able to understand my school boy French.
Good choice menu, one was printed in English, which helped!!.As well as the main menu there were a couple of specials on the board all meals were reasonably priced.
We enjoyed a very nice meal, very filling !! and declined the sweet the couple at the next table had a struggle getting through their sweet.
A Very good resteraunt overall, good service, reasonable price we will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susanOxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Versailles, Yvelines
 
Versailles, Yvelines
 
Versailles, Yvelines
Versailles, Yvelines
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing