We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Opera (L'Opera Royal)

The Royal Opera (L'Opera Royal)
Book In Advance
$140*
and up
Skip the Line: Versailles Tour by Train Including Guided Visit of the Royal...
Ranked #4 of 71 things to do in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited this beautiful opera house as part of a behind the scenes Versailles tour. It is in beautiful shape with much of the guilt and fixtures restored. The size of the theatre is impressive considering the time period it was constructed. Another example of the decadent french monarchy pre-revolution.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    31
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
555 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 916 helpful votes
“Wonderful part of a guided tour!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Touring the Opera is part of a guided tour of Versailles. We were told either the Chapel or the Opera, depending on performances in the Opera House. Luckily we were able to view the Opera House as you can see some of the Chapel during the general tour but you cannot see the Opera House during the general tour.

The area is beautiful and the curtain with the royal crest is amazing to see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikko4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
181 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Baroque jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have attended performances of operas at this 18th century jewel of a theatre in the Château de Versailles on several occasions. The decor and intimate atmosphere complement the performances of Baroque works which are among the most original and amusing that we have ever seen.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ticket machines; Royal Opera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Versailles opulent as ever and the music during the Grandes Eaux really enhances the experience, but queuing a problem. If like us you don't come with tickets, then as soon as you get inside, leave one person in the queue, if possible, and go and find the automatic ticket machines located near the loos. We did this and saved ourselves the last few metres of the queue, but the machines are poorly signposted and not available outside the building.

Big disappointment for me was not being able to see the Royal Opera. I should have read Tripadvisor more closely and noted that you can only see it as part of a guided tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Most spectacular sight in Versailles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Like being inside a huge golden glowing jewel box. A fabulous theatre, easily worth taking a guided tour of the Kings' private apartments just to see this at the end.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nitere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Opera (L'Opera Royal) also viewed

 
Versailles, Yvelines
 

Been to The Royal Opera (L'Opera Royal)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing