We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience The Trianons & The Hamlet
from $13.80
More Info
from $231.70
More Info
from $113.50
More Info
from $103.20
More Info
Reviews (1,826)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveler rating
506
198
46
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
198
46
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marie antoinette petit trianon main palace farm animals these areas versailles grounds peasant village pink marble long walk working farm small palace court life mini train favorite part nice walk visiting versailles petit train
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Now this is a country retreat I would like to go to. The rooms here are elegant and left more in tact as they were. There are lovely gardens to explore. I loved the colour of the marble pillars

Thank Debbiebain71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Trianon Palaces and The Hamlet are worth the effort to visit here and may help you avoid crowds if you start your tour at Versailles by going here first. The hamlet has a great story, and enjoyable to walk around its park-like environment.

Thank Winesnobs_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Took the train to help with the walking my partner struggles.
You can get on and off the train they run every 10 minutes.
Take as many photos but don't forget No Flash

Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This part of the chateau is quite remote but very interesting and worth making the effort to go and see. The little train will take you there if you don't fancy the long walk

Thank mauricef15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Note these are some way off - both in terms of distance ( use mini train if you don't fancy a LOT of walking) and internal decor / furniture. However still worth visiting and personally the Petit Trianon was interesting for the English Garden, so unlike the structured layout of the chateau gardens.
Entry to both buildings is included in the passport ticket.
Can't report on the Hamlet as didn't get to it.

Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

This chateau was very good but not as much information as the palace of Versailles. Quieter too but worth a visit

Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

I want to write a review as a warning to any future travellers who are also going to Versailles purely to see the Trianons and Hamlet. Despite doing a lot of research, I managed to come unprepared and wasted a lot of money (and some time).

First of all, when you arrive at the Palace, you can follow the signs to the left saying Grand Trianon, but be prepared. There was a musical gardens show so I had to pay entry to the gardens in addition to my Trianon ticket just to get to the Trianon. You can walk to the right of the Palace and go in through a side entrance, but then you would have to walk for over 15 minutes to get to the little tram.

That leads me to my second point: the tram. The Trianons are located almost 2 miles away from the Palace, so unless you have unlimited time, that's not super feasible. The tram to get there costs 8 Euro (I think), so be prepared to pay again when it comes to getting to the Trianon.

It takes a little while to drive there on the tram, but the grounds are beautiful so it passes quickly. When you arrive at the Trianon, you can either enter through the Grand Trianon (which turns into a very long walk through the gardens, up a hill, down a path, through a long set of gardens past another building before you finally reach the Petit Trianon), or go down the path through the trees to the Petit Trianon. The Grand Trianon is pretty (particularly the gardens), while the Petit Trianon is certainly very petit, but still worth a quick look. Regardless of which one you choose, you will be walking a lot to get between the two of them, and we haven't even touched on the Hamlet.

The Hamlet was the reason I really wanted to come to Versailles, and it's beautiful, but it was a fairly long walk through some unmarked trails. I almost turned the wrong way and if it wasn't for a tour group nearby, I would've wandered off the grounds entirely. The Hamlet is cute but a little underwhelming as you can't enter the houses- or at least you couldn't when I was there. But it's crazy to think a queen basically created a small town for her own amusement, and the hamlet is certainly very charming. The gardens and grounds around it are truly unbelievable- so many huge trees and beautiful grass. I could've wandered around for hours once I finally knew which direction to go. Once you've finished, you must then make the long trek back out around to catch the tram to return. With the journey to get here, you need 3 hours at least. It's worth a visit, but don't make my mistakes and be sure to come prepared!

Thank Kelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Well there certainly is a lot to see at Versailles. After having been blown away by the opulence of the contents of the Palace..one finds more at the Trianon...

Thank pazthetaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Had visited Versailles on a prior occasion and decided to see Trianon on this trip. Absolutely stunning. From the pink marble to the furnishings, it engages you. And the hamlet is a wonderful area to visit. But wear walking shoes because it is a lot of walking!!

Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

You should really take the little train to get here , but once you are OMG i loved it ... the trianons are excuisite and the hameau is fantastic ......

Thank joannka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews