We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable three night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    266
    117
    40
    20
See reviews for
110
218
38
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Telephoned to pre-book parking. Was told on arrival that parking not possible - apparently my car was too big - although there were bigger cars in the car park and I had previously made enquiries! Allowed to park after I insisted. No allowance was given by staff (one male staff member in particular) for safety of lone female traveller made.
There were amply spaces in the care park - at 6.30.a.m. (not pm) there were 3 spaces untaken from the night before.
Decor is awful. Dark and oppressive. The corridors were dark - no natural lighting at all. The automatic lighting did not come on at the right time leaving you fumbling along a dark corridor.
The floor in the room was uneven with a large steep slope that jarred the legs and hips - there was no warning signs evident.
There was no shower cap, despite being given a room with only a shower.
There was no 'do not disturb' sign.
Will never stay at this hotel again. The next evening, an IBIS hotel did very much better and was very much cheaper!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 888Dodo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

On arrival we had booked a car space and were then told none were available. This meant we had to park in the street and feed a meter every 2 hours except Sunday. We told them before arrival it was a special occasion our 30th wedding anniversary. The room we were given was horrible. It was tiny and the bathroom was part of the bedroom. The room was on a corner with 3 other rooms with lots of noise from the other rooms. On the last day Of our 3 day stay we complained and were given a slightly large room. (at least it had a bathroom)We were told breakfast finished at 11am so we went down at 10 am to the lady huffing puffing being very rude and when we asked what we had done wrong were told on this day it finished at 10 an ( nice if someone had told us!) there was a nice girl at reception who also helped the cleaner who was sick to clean rooms but otherwise a pretty horrible experience. On checkout we had to carry our bags several streets away to the car. Would stay elsewhere next time. Wish they had a money back guarantee.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Versailles hotels

Staffordshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived two hours before official check-in and our rooms were ready which was nice. I had specifically booked this hotel because of its secure underground car parking. We were staying here for 2 nights after a two-week holiday in the south of france. Whilst we took an overnight bag into the hotel all of our other luggage (quite a lot really) had to be left in the car and I did not want to park on the street with all of our suitcase visible in the back. I understood that car park spaces had to be pre-booked and I did this when booking our two rooms - this was several months ago. Upon arrival I was told that the car park was full - that it was first come first served and that anyway, our vehicle (a people carrier) wouldn't fit in there anyway. I was quite put out but the receptionist told us to find a space on the street. She didn't explain that the "payant" spaces are free in August so we were confused as it appeared that you could only park for a maximum of 2 hours.
Our rooms were off a courtyard on the ground floor and the courtyard itself was very old fashioned and depressing. 1970s cement and stone paving blocks. It looked more like a prison than a hotel. The rooms were fine - nothing special but clean and tidy. As other reviewers say, the rooms were exceptionally small with nowhere to even put our overnight bag. Also, because it was off a small yard, it was very dark inside the room - rather gloomy I would say. A complimentary small bottle of water was greatly appreciated. Unlike other reviewers, our air con/heating did seem to work.
On our first morning I raced ahead to Versailles (the hotel is really well positioned for this) to buy tickets. My husband stayed behind with my 82 year old mother and booked a taxi from reception. She seemed puzzled that he would want a taxi but he pointed out that even a 15 minute walk is too much for my mother before she even starts to walk around the palce. She appeared to phone for a taxi and my husband and mother stood in reception and waited for 20 minutes. When they eventually questioned why no taxi had turned up she told them that there was only 1 taxi company in the whole of Versailles (gasp in unbelieving astonishment) and that they did not work on a Sunday. They had spent 20 minutes stood close to her and she hadn't bothered to tell them that she hadn't actually booked them a taxi at all. My husband is a very laid back person but he was furious. Of course there are numerous taxi companies in Versailles and they were working as not only did we see taxis throughout the day, when we got back somebody was being dropped off in front of the hotel in a taxi. Truly appalling service (and lies).

Room Tip: Ask to NOT be put in a room off the courtyard - rooms 001 - 005.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_G_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent a long weekend at Versailles and found this hotel both practical and pleasant. The price was reasonable for a 3 star hotel andwas very well renovated. The standard of the room was high, modern and extremely clean, although small. Breakfast was varied and the staff on duty both at reception and the breakfast room were friendly and efficient. A good base for visiting Versailles and not far from the RER train to Paris centre. Would stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baboo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
0.8 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#5 of 26 in Versailles
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Versailles Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Versailles Chateau

Property: Mercure Versailles Chateau
Address: 19 rue Philippe de Dangeau | Angle rue Montbauron, 78000, Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Versailles Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Versailles Chateau is located in the heart of Versailles, within easy reach of the three stations that connect to Paris and the airports, and close to the business district, museums and monuments. Offering 60 airconditioned rooms, including 8family rooms (please contact the hotel directly to book one of these) and 3 rooms for guests with limited mobility, the hotel also features a meeting room and an undercover pay car park, subject to availability. Public swimming pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Versailles Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Versailles Chateau Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing