We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Cheval Rouge
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Reviewed October 22, 2005

Stayed at this hotel one night on a trip to Paris from Amsterdam. 2 single girls. Our plan was to go to Paris for 3 nights then to Mont. St. Michael and to Normandy – all by car from Amsterdam. Knowing that driving in Paris is difficult and parking is expensive and normally not included with a room at a Parsian hotel, we decided to drive to Versailles, do the palace / gardens tour and stay overnight at a location where we were hoping that we could safely leave the car. If you are considering this, it was an excellent idea. We selected le Cheval Rouge for it’s positive comments prior, Rick Steve’s recommendation, and because it provided free secure parking. (we asked in with our reservation if we could leave the car and they said that we could). The room itself was standard -2 twin beds and roomy by European standards. It was simple but effective and efficient. The bathroom was small, but that was to be expected. Everything was clean and very quiet. The day receptionist was very friendly, she helped us check in, answered our questions, and recommended a restaurant to eat at which was great. The night receptionist was not friendly at all. Refused to speak at all in English (not unexpected) however, made no effect to communicate at all. We asked her for an extra pillow and she said no and we also asked her to help us call the hotel we were staying at in Paris to confirm the train stop and she refused to make the call. Breakfast was croissants, French bread, coffee and OJ. The location is great in terms of the Palace, the train station, shopping, and a street market which had great veggies, cheese, and bread for a picnic. I would recommend visiting Versailles in a day trip or a short overnight trip like this as we found the palace was the only thing to do in the city. The Palace was beautiful and the gardens are stunning. Try to visit when the foundations are running if possible. Upon our arrival in the garden we noticed that golf cars were being rented for 30 euro / hr. We laughed at this as we started to walk through the gardens. After walking an hour, we probably saw about 1/3 of the gardens and would definitely recommend getting the cart to use your time efficiently. The double room for 2 adults was 70 euro + 7 euro / person for breakfast. It was a good deal given our circumstances and I would recommend the hotel to others regardless of the poor night staff service given it’s location to everything in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank buddythecatNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Cheval Rouge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 263 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2005

Considering the location (centre), its one of the best little hotels around. Yes it is pretty basic but for around €65 per night, what do you expect?

We stay here often for work and although the breakfast is a baguette with jam, there are plenty of great restuarants for the evenings.
Check out Pizza Capri on the opposite corner of the square and the American restaurnant. (Yumm)

The Palace is great, Versailles is beautiful. This is a great little base for Versailles or Paris.

Beware rooms near the market, sometimes a little busy in the mornings.

Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank jenjen_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2005

We stayed at the Cheval Rouge for the 50th Birthday of the Citroen DS, and found it ideally fitted our needs. Secure parking, friendly staff, very centrally located, excellent restaurant next door.

Just be prepared for a small room, and have breakfast at a local cafe.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank scooterpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2003

We stayed at Cheval Rouge on O2, 2003. The hotel is very well located in regards to the palace, shops, restaurants, etc. It has a lovely courtyard where you park your car whose doors close at night. The personnel at the hotel was very nice and helpful; great at giving directions and recommending restaurants. The room was small but cozy. We recommend this hotel highly.

16  Thank rosema07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
oostende, europe
114
Reviewed August 12, 2003

authentic hotel that was part of the château. Iwould not recommend to have breakfast there, but if you rent a car there is a safe parking inside the hotelcourt. As information, versailles is not "ile de france" but "le yvelines" as department.
20 minutes from paris by train is even quicker than to stay in paris and taking the subway to the center

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2003

The hotel has a lot of charm!! The rooms are clean, quiet, and comfortable, the decor romantic, the location is in the heart of restaurants and shops, and also... you can park there!!! Good value!

14  Thank gnomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2003

We stayed just one night (April, 2003) and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a GREAT part of town with many places to eat just steps away from the hotel and the hotel has ample private parking. Rooms were OK, nothing fancy, but did have CNN/BBC, comfy beds, and ours was pretty quite. The hotel is a good value and we'd recommend to those with a budget and average standards. Its a pleasant 10 - 15 minute walk to the palace.

25  Thank GeoPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
0.4 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#6 of 26 in Versailles
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Cheval Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cheval Rouge

Address: 18 rue Andre Chenier | 18 rue André Chénier, 78000, Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: $108 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Cheval Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By staying at the Hôtel du Cheval Rouge you enter into the rich history of Versailles and its Château. Built in 1676, the Cheval Rouge was originally Louis XIV's livery. Since then, the Cheval Rouge has kept up this tradition of hospitality, with friendly service and 40 newly renovated rooms that will make your trip to Versailles restful and enjoyable. At a 5 minutes' walk from the Château, the Cheval Rouge is conveniently located between the three train stations serving Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Cheval Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cheval Rouge Versailles
Le Cheval Rouge Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing