We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive Option in Versaille”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Cheval Rouge
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night during our honeymoon. We knew we would just be passing through and did not want to splurge for a room here. The price was less expensive than a lot of options and about a 10 minute walk over to Versailles. They also let us store our bags for the day we checked out in order for us to explore for the day and leave on a train in the evening. The room we had was up on the 2nd floor and facing the parking lot and it was a rather large room with 2 beds. Given the stool in the shower we think it may have been a handicapped accessible room. The Wi-Fi worked okay and was complimentary.

All that aside, it had more downsides than we would have liked and we would have expected more for 100 Euros.

The room was dirty and clearly not maintained. This is not from the guest before us but clearly just not taken care of. The rugs were dirty, bedspreads not laundered in some time, trash cans had food and debris on the outside of them and there was mold in the shower. The linens in the bathroom were the thinnest threadbare I have ever seen and I had concerns about ripping them in half while using them. They were very small towels too. There was a very odd smell in the room and we had to pull out our trusty Febreeze mini bottle and used about half of it to help with the odor. There was not shower curtain or anything of a sort for the tub so you could not stand up with the nozzle or you would surely make a huge mess. Given the condition of the tub one had to kneel to wash and I have to say in all my travels, this experience was foul. I have been 1 other hotel in all my travels that did not have a shower curtain but it was very clean and the tub was large and you could easily sit on the side or something.

We went to go to breakfast but we realized when we went to walk into the room there was not much food left and saw some people kind of loitering wondering what they were going to eat for their 9 Euros. We then decided we would not be staying for breakfast and went back to our room and grabbed our bags to check out. Then, the person at the front desk did not know English. Given this was not an issue up on check in we were confused and she did not seem to know what to do with us even though it was blatantly obvious we were checking out. Suddenly the front door opened and in came the front desk person, with bread for breakfast...since they were obviously out. Do they not plan for breakfast? This young woman checked us out and said they would hold our bags in a locked room for the day.

When we came back later for our bags...they were exactly where we had left them in the lobby totally open to the public for someone to grab them. We put locks on our bags but I have to say, that was a first and we found that very annoying.

Although this hotel was 100 Euros, we expected a lot more. If I was going to stay in Versailles again, I would splurge for the one night and get something closer to the train station since that was a bit further away than we wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room, facing the parking lot if noise is an issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewtonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello,

We apologise deeply for the negative stay you had with us. It is unacceptable that you found dirt in your room upon arrival and we will do what has to be done to make sure this does NOT happen again.

I'm sorry you found the breakfast disappointing. It is indeed very basic, with nothing cooked and although we do of course plan breakfast, it happens that on some mornings our guests eat more than expected and somebody must go to the boulangerie down the road to stock up. It seems it took longer than expected.

We are happy to keep bags for our guests whilst they go our and visit town, whether it be in our lobby or down the corridor next to our lobby. There is always a staff member in the reception room and we have never had any theft issues with guest bags. Versailles is a safe town.

If it is possible, I would very much like the exact dates of your stay so that it is easier for us to more easily target the exact issues that you encountered during your time with us. Please email us to chevalrouge@sfr.fr at your convenience if this is alright with you as there are appalling matters in your comment that need our greatest attention and must be resolved.

Thank you again for your comment,

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I stayed for 1 night in July. This hotel is a 15-20 min. walk from Gare Rive-Gauche. As we were coming with luggage we opted for a taxi but no taxi would take us. I'm not sure how you would overcome this obstacle.

Room was spacious, clean and bright. The breakfast at either 8 or 9 Euros is a bargain as we ate at the boulangerie down the street. While it was very good, 2 yogurts, 2 pastries and 3 coffees was 15 Euros. Their breakfast looked like they offered quite a selection of items.

There is no elevator, which wasn't a problem for us but might be for some. Wifi was terrible. I never did get in on my iphone. My husband and son did get in on their Blackberrys but even that was weak service. No in-room safe or coffee-making facilities.

It is an 8-10 min. walk to Versailles. There are many restaurants and a couple boulangeries in the area. Hotel was quiet and they were helpful with getting a train, finding restaurants, etc.

All in all, this is a nice, moderate hotel - with a few things that could be improved upon. If you know what you are getting, I think most people would be very happy here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patches07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your kind comment. I'm sorry to hear you encountered a problem with the taxi from Versailles Rive Gauche. It is an issue that we have complained about many times as it is simply because the taxi driver does not want to make such a short distance drive. Luckily this station isn't too far from our hotel.

We have had a bit of a problem with our WIFI recently, I apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are doing our best to make the signal stronger so that this doesn't occur anymore. For security reasons we don't have any kettles or irons in the room. Although we do not have a laundry/ironing service you are welcome to come down to the lobby for hot water or coffee from the machine.

Despite the few inconveniences of our hotel we hope your stay was pleasant and that you will visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

stayed for three nights to visit the chateau which is a ten minute walk away also has numerous restaurants on the door step. The hotel has a free car park for guests to park in, the near by car park is 19 euros for 24 hours. The receptionist we spoke to was very helpful and spoke perfect English.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPhillyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hello,

Thank you so very much for your kind review. I hope you were able to take advantage of our private and free parking during your stay as recently, the Tour de France came through Versailles and made it quite difficult for guests to enter our parking lot with roads being blocked off.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Tasmania
2515
Reviewed July 13, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Basic accommodatiom but in a prime location. The free and secure car parking is a great plus. Friendly staff who helped us with our visit to Paris. We found it very clean. If you want a basic but well located base with a quiet, clean and excellent shower then this is the place to stay. No frills but we don't stay in the hotel much of the time anyway. We liked the area. It was literally near all the facilities you would need. A market and a railway station around the corner. We were very impressed with the powerful shower!! The only grumble would be the kettle situation. No kettle in the room to make a cuppa, and even though I asked for one, we had to go to the breakfast room to get some hot water out of a machine each morning. . That put me off a bit as it wasn't as convenient. We didn't have breakfast there. We had coffee and breakfast round the corner and watched the bustle of the market which was nice. Very easy to get to Paris. We went each day on the train. Cost for the ticket is arounf 8 euros each return. But just think of the saving in parking and it was nice to come back to Versailles in the evening.,Towels changed and room cleaned each day

Room Tip: Our room was quite dark . Try for the rooms facing opposite the market
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your comment. I'm ever so sorry you were not entirely satisfied with your stay because of the lack of kettles in the rooms. For security and cleanliness reasons we have chosen to have the coffee/hot water machine in the lobby where guests can help themselves during the opening hours of the hotel with a member of personnel present.

I'm happy that the rest of your stay went pleasurably and I do hope you will pick us again for a future stay in Versailles!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel is situated immediately next to a busy market, but is quiet and relatively secluded. It's main attraction is that it has free parking in a secure on-site car park (old stables from the palace) and is within easy walk of the RTR (Paris railway) and the Palace of Versailles. There are many restaurants within a short walk. The room we had was fairly basic, but clean and with an excellent bathroom which looked newly fitted. The room had all the modern conveniences, TV, desk, sockets etc. The wi-fi was good in our room. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Remember, you are paying a relatively small amount of money for a secure hotel in one of the most expensive cities in the world. I regard this as excellent value. If you want 5* luxury, then pay far more elsewhere. For us, Hotel du Cheval Rouge was exactly right.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perniticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment on our hotel. It does come as a surprise to our dear guests that our hotel is so quiet and yet right next to the local market! In the 17th century our hotel was indeed composed of stables, and was also where the king "stocked" his fish and meat to feed the many mouths at the Château.

I'm glad we were of such help during your stay and we hope that you will come back again very soon!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a very unfortunate experience at this Steve's recommended two star property. Our initial room was really dirty, right down to mold in the shower! The hallways that are carpeted closer to the lobby area, have a horrific stench which concerned us immediately on the way to our room. Guess this really was a livery at one point! We are in agreement with another reviewer that it needs scrubbing from top to bottom and some fresh paint and newer linens. We were so distraught after our first night, that we were moved in the morning to a more updated room where the hallways had wood flooring. Smelled better. We had already paid for the stay and it was too late to go elsewhere or we would have done that. The room was slightly better but not much cleaner and had some serious mold on the tile surrounding the bath/shower. I pointed this out to the young lady who helped us close our window, as we could not accomplish this for fear of breaking it! She really didn't respond and stared very closely at the mold. Not sure she knew what it was. The chair at the desk was filthy. Can you imagine when the bedspreads were last laundered? The staff was polite. The location was good. Parking was convenient and safe although that area is tired. It appeared to be a frequented business person stopover. It is unfortunate that we had the experience we did because we would not recommend it or ever stay there again. They did not charge us for a continental breakfast that was sent to our room on ordering coffee. We felt it was an apologetic gesture.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrapinTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your comment. I'm ever so sorry you had such an awful stay.

What you speak of is absolutely unacceptable. We trust our room-maids to fully complete their task and in a fitly manner. But it obviously seems that we will have to have our rooms inspected more frequently. Should you remember who you dealt with for your issue, feel free to send us an email at chevalrouge@sfr.fr with further information so that we can follow up on this.

Offering you breakfast was the very least we could do to present you with our sincerest apologies. I'm all the more sorry that you will not stay with us for a future stop in Versailles.

Despite your negative comment we are thankful for it as this enables us to get a firmer grip on what is out of order and leaves our dear guests unsatisfied.

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
0.6 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#6 of 26 in Versailles
356 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Cheval Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cheval Rouge

Address: 18 rue Andre Chenier | 18 rue André Chénier, 78000, Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: $105 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Cheval Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By staying at the Hôtel du Cheval Rouge you enter into the rich history of Versailles and its Château. Built in 1676, the Cheval Rouge was originally Louis XIV's livery. Since then, the Cheval Rouge has kept up this tradition of hospitality, with friendly service and 40 newly renovated rooms that will make your trip to Versailles restful and enjoyable. At a 5 minutes' walk from the Château, the Cheval Rouge is conveniently located between the three train stations serving Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Cheval Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cheval Rouge Versailles
Le Cheval Rouge Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing