We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value in Versailles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Cheval Rouge
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value in Versailles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A basic but quiet and comfortable hotel with free parking in the heart of Versailles. The hotel is directly opposite the square which hosts an excellent market on a Tuesday. Good local bars and restaurants surround the square and the palace is just 10 minutes walk away. Breakfast good value at 8 euros - coffee suprisingly good from the machine. Staff very helpful. Town is pleasant to walk around but only warrants a two-day stay. The tourist office supplies maps for walking tours of the city.

Room Tip: Maybe worth getting a twin room for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STN52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for your pleasant comment on our hotel and staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our coffee. We supply ourselves from the "Cafés Richard" company in a specific coffee grain which offers particularly good espressos. We hope that you will enjoy another stay with us in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    129
    49
    12
    6
See reviews for
65
106
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed 2 nights and room was comfortable, clean and affordable. Staff very accommodating. Great if you have a car. Free parking. Loved the European feel and atmosphere. Language mostly French but communication adequate. Walked to Palace which is amazing.

Room Tip: Courtyard view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andruette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your comment. Indeed, our hotel is very close to the Palace and it is a nice walk up the road to it. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again should you come back to Versailles again!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davis, ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed 3 nights to visit Versaille and Paris. Took the train to Paris (about 45 minutes each way). Good clean small jhotel. Typical breakfast. This is great for someone driving - they have a courtyard with free parking. If you have a rental car, you don't want to drive and park in Paris. You run a high risk of dings. Folks are friendly and speak english. This is a Rick Steves recommendation (we liked his choice). Lots of street restaurants in the evening and there are banks nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your positive appraisal on our hotel and are glad you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of Versailles. We are very thankful for the guests that Rick Steve sends us and hope to welcome you in the near future at our hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Camilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Versailles which was too long. In our opinion, you only need one day to fully explore and enjoy the palace, the rest of the town is nothing out of the ordinary. We thoroughly enjoyed our other day in Paris at the Musee d'Orsay which is a fabulous museum. As for the Cheval Rouge, you have to remind yourself it is only a 2star hotel, not cheap, and certainly a mixed bag.
The positives are free parking (if relevant), a 15 minute walk to the palace, the same to the railway station (30 mins to central Paris), room clean, relatively modern, everything worked, breakfast good value. The reception staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Negatives are in particular the drabness of the place, first impressions and all that. The stairs, landings and corridors drastically need redecorating and new carpets. My wife was amazed to find that there were no hair dryers anywhere in the hotel. The wi-fi does not work if you are in the upper rooms. We had to sit in the reception to get a strong enough signal. Each of these negatives could so easily be put right with relatively little outlay.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room overlooking car park. Proved to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Really just got to confirm previous reviews. We went in August 2012 by car. Great free paking behind iron lockable gates. Rooms basic but clean. All rather dated but hey so what it does what it say on the tin and at a reasonable price. The place is surrounded by restaurants - lots of choice within 500m. 10 minute walk to Versaille. If you want to visit the chateau get up early, by ten o clock there's a 2 hour queue in August. Good rail connection to Paris.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to overlook the carpark which is comforting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpydave42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch Essex
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed just for one night in August while visiting the Palace of Versailles which is just a ten minute walk from the hotel. The room was comfortable and clean but a bit dated and didn't have air con so we left the window open and was quiet at night. Breakfast is rather limited so you might be better off getting something elsewhere as we paid extra for this. It is situated in a square surrounded by good restaurants and you have to access the hotel's free car park driving through the square which might be a problem in the evening. A good priced hotel considering the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrudiHornchurchEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Very convenient for the Versailles palace and also near the station RER to Paris. The line has a stop near the Eiffel Tower. It is also surrounding many, many super looking restaurants.

The hotel is somewhat basic. However the rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean. We had a triple and the 3rd bed would have been big enough for two.

Breakfast was unlimited and good value.

The price is right. Parking is also in the courtyard right outside the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.4 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#5 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#13 of 26 in Versailles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Cheval Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cheval Rouge

Property: Hotel du Cheval Rouge
Address: 18 rue Andre Chenier | 18 rue André Chénier, 78000, Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Cheval Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By staying at the Hôtel du Cheval Rouge you enter into the rich history of Versailles and its Château. Built in 1676, the Cheval Rouge was originally Louis XIV's livery. Since then, the Cheval Rouge has kept up this tradition of hospitality, with friendly service and 40 newly renovated rooms that will make your trip to Versailles restful and enjoyable. At a 5 minutes' walk from the Château, the Cheval Rouge is conveniently located between the three train stations serving Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Cheval Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cheval Rouge Versailles
Le Cheval Rouge Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing