We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character & Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Character and atmosphere are the best attributes of Trianon Palace. The whole point of this place is the elitism, touch of luxury, and a bit of a show (but hey, that's part of the whole point), and it achieves these objectives alright.

Service was excellent, location is great, very good Feng Shuai.
I especially appreciate the design of the bathroom with the combination of black and white mosaic floor, marble and tiles - and the simplicity of the layout - it says right out CLEAN.
Together with the wall lights of the bathroom it is a bit of Art Deco, which is wonderful.

Also love the breakfast service - elegant salle and the staff members are exceptional.

However, if ever perfection is what Waldorf Astoria is determined to reach, I have a few observations:
1, provide slippers and they are to be readily placed in the room.
2, make a better effort to impress with the interiors of elevators.
3, details in the refurbishment to be attended to, for example, spot lights to be properly installed, painting of the doors to be done more professionally.
4, maybe a purely personal preference here: use comforters ( 'qouette') instead of blankets ('couverture')

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freakytsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 3,213 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2010

Lovely hotel and close of Versailles for touring. Impossible to get into the restaurants if you haven't booked even if you are a hotel guest.
Rooms are comfortable, lovely bathrooms and great bed.
internet connection a little tempramental when I was there.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
Thank brooksie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Stayed at the Palace last week on business for 1 night. Booked at the last minute through LM, got a good deal. Didn't quite realise how grand the hotel is, or that it's Gordon Ramsey's restaurant, it does what it says on the tin, it's a Palace !

Would recommend and well worth the stay for the cost, the facilities are excellent, gym/pool etc but a couple of gripes,
no free wifi or car parking, find it surprising given the stature of the htel, extra cost of £45
Bedroom doors ! drive you mad you can hear everyone opening/closing
The atmosphere is a bit stuffy, not that welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

What a super surrounding, next to the park, this is a beautiful building (I am talking about the main building here not the new "annexes" next door).
The staff is very polite, discreet and efficient, the front desk is good but small. the Lobby is very "fashion": with some green and grey leather sofas. The concierge is friendly is knowledgeable. So far so good.
As a Gold Hilton member I had the room upgrade, hence the feedback about a room in the main building on the 4th floor (room with french windows).
The room are spacious, well decorated and the bed is excellent. The bathroom is very big with Bath, shower and a separate toilet....the heated floor is also a very nice detail.
On arriving I had 2 bottles of water and a selection of fresh fruit "supremes", nice.
The Spa (Guerlain) is way too expensive, though quite exclusive the access to it is note easy (on the basement floor -1) and impossible for anyone in a wheel chair (lift way too small and forget about the stairs), as for the Swimming pool and Hamam you still have to cross the Spa section to finally reach another lift to the -2 basement...the swimming pool os excellent, big and deep but the hamam is not great, and you do not have any Jacuzzi or anything fancy really.
Regarding the overall service first class, 15 minutes after leaving the Swimming pool I had a knock on my door to offer me more towels and some chocolate (good timing really), and later on a welcome call from the room service, introducing themselves and offering me a special selection du jour, this is great.
Now as we say the devil is in the detail and I do look at all those details that most people would usually ignore, here is where things are starting to fall apart at least for this type of hotel (really this is on the line with Paris most 5 stars e.g: George 5, the Crillon, Grand Hotel...).
So the bad points first:
-
1) Again as mentioned in a previous review on trip advisor "main foyer chandelier; even the plaster is coming through," and this is still the case!!! First impression?
2) Lift are way too slow and the one for the direct access to the basement (SPA & Swimming pool) is poorly indicated. This is not serious.
3) Wheelchair access is a concern! Forget about the SPA.
4) In the room, if like me you do open the curtains, you will notice (at least in room 406) some live cable, yes open live wire electrical cable, probably left unfinished by the building contractor, this should have been spotted and fixed! Also about 20 cigarettes but on the balcony (french bay window) serious concern about the cleaning check list.
5) The bathroom fixture are poorly fitted in both the shower and the bathroom! this is unacceptable .
6) The additional 50 euros for animals/pets is over the top.
7) Internet/TV package is way too expensive (39 euros???).
8) The kettle service is ridiculous, cheap kettle from Argos, and a crap selection of Tea and coffee, come on you either put a good one or nothing!!!
9) If you are a gold or Diamond member, well good luck, no executive lounge, no free breakfast...Hum careful here the Hilton Arc de Triomphe is not too far away...!)
10) If you check the website and by any chance you wish to do some horse riding as advertise...well simply forget about it you can not do it in Versailles and the nearest stable or 20 minutes away. This is quite misleading.
11) The "Bar food" is too expensive, 29 euros for a sandwich! Though the Caesar salad is excellent and good value.
12) 20 euros a day for the car park.....in Versailles? We are not in Monaco or London city centre with "space restriction" here?


But wait, apart from the points negatives above (ok some of you might say that I am pedantic), overall this is an excellent hotel, the bar is great (I should mentioned that you do get a free cocktail/drink of your choice for 2 on arrival) the staff is super efficient and the hotel itself full of history (or what is left of it).
You have a choice of 2 restaurant (quite expensive for the Gordon Ramsay one with the Italian chef but apparently a very good one), though the new fashion trend for the table du chef is basically you and you guest seating next to the open plan (this is a large glass in between, you are not actually in the kitchen like most restaurant ) kitchen with a personal service and a degustation menu for well slightly over 10.000euros for 6 guest...not joking.
The Veranda is a quick but good cuisine (honestly it is the same "kitchen").
The Brunch is not average, with a good selection but nothing extraordinary and only soft drinks on offer.
So the good pints:
+
1) Swimming pool (except the towels that are not 4/5 stars).
2) The staff.
3) The Caesar salad.
4) The welcome selection (fresh fruits and water).
5) The drink selection (Armagnacs and Whiskies mainly).
6) The surrounding.
7) The size of the rooms.
8) Value for money if you get a good deal online.
9) Top of the range Michelin star restaurant (e.g Gordon Ramsay).
10) Great view from the main building, access to the garden and next door to the Versailles castle (15 minutes walk).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikePM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Great hotel..excellent service. Arrived very late and still the staff were helpful and accomodating. Had a room in the newer part of the hotel a short walk from the main old palace building. Nice clean modern hotel room with all the luxuries one would expect. Excellent Mattress guaranteed a good nights sleep. Room was a little warm and aircon seemed a little ineffective though may have been set centrally for winter conditions. All in all great hotel stay and excellent for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neoklassiksoul-yahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Good base for exploring Versailles as it is a walk through to park to get to the main Palace. We stayed in the palace building which appeared to be much nicer than the Annex. Staff were friendly and helpful. We ate at both restaurants which were both excellent. The spa treatment was of a very high quality but they could use a decent relaxation area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Trianon Palace is a marvel. Rooms are spacious. Bed is soooo comfortable. Service is Very Good, although I have to say that Breakfast Service wasn't so good, I stood up a few times and there were some items that needed repleneshing and the resturant was half full.

Anyway, the area is great. Very Quiet. The Bathroom could maybe have been a little bigger.

But it was an overall marvelous experience for my girlfriend and I

And our best time was in the Gym. The hamman is at just the right temperature, so is the water. And the design of the Spa is very nice too.

Great Stay

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelboulad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#11 of 26 in Versailles
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
887 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78000, Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Versailles
Price Range: $201 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Grand-style Palace & Pavillion building situated in 8-acre park bordering the Palace of Versailles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Palace Hotel Versailles
Versailles Trianon Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing