We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in quiet park close to the castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is very good! Although the main building is old, the rooms and facilities are modern and up to date! The breakfast buffet has everything you could ask for in this luxury hotel! The fitness room is very well equipped but it is a bit difficult to program equipment (ex. tread mills) as the only available language is french (touch screen programming). The internet connection in the rooms are excellent (20-25 Mbs up and down), but unfortunately it is not free (.....come on, we are in 2014 and free wifi should be available in a luxury hotel like this!) Now you have to pay the horrible price of 25 euro/day!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Rannugode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles and thank you for your nice comments.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed to take advantage from the quietness of the Trianon Palace, that you liked our buffet breakfast and our hotel
As far as the fitness equipment, in fact you can choose English language, I am sorry that you did not ask to our staff.
Looking forward the pleasure of your next visit.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 3,268 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

A mini mega-mansion of sorts, on the fabulous grounds of Versailles, this a a wonderful spot no only to cap off a day walking around the palace, but with it's beautiful decor and amazing grounds - worth an extended visit in its own right. The rooms are lovely, not so much as much so in the annex, but the lobby & common areas are magnificent. The hotel, unlike its Parisian counterparts 20 minutes away is reasonably priced and a real value! My only qualm was with the bell staff, as upon arrival, we were directed to just leave the car & bags & check in & that everything would be taken care of. We later found that "everything" entailed everything but the cave-aged washed rind "stinky" cheese (just purchased in Beaune earlier that day) that never made it up to the room. The bell hop manager, upon my request, after make believing that they did not see the cheese, pulled the car around, only to find it right in clear sight in the trunk. He then, expressed that he felt that, "it may be off/expired." It was stinky & not only smelled up the in-room mini fridge, but the whole room, so I can see the motive, but did not appreciate the method, so to speak. Nevertheless, I'd return, but next time for longer & with more cheese !

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Trianon Palace coming back form Burgundy.
We are sorry for the issue you had with our staff member regarding the cheese you brought back, please accept our apologies.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for a longer stay.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here 24/03/2012-26/03/2012 and my Fiancé proposed here :) slightly premature as he had planned to propose in the adjacent palace grounds looking up to Châteaux Versailles but on check-in we were informed that Sunday is the busiest day in the park and palace grounds (closed Mondays).

We were upgraded from the Pavilion to the main building when my Fiancé contacted them to check where our room would be and explained his plans - our bathroom overlooked the palace!! The only problem I have is that the hotel offered him a lot of complimentary things as they were really accommodating when he explained his proposal plans and then one week before when he rang to confirm everything he got a nasty receptionist who said he wouldn't be getting any of the things previously offered as there were going to be VIPs in the hotel who weren't getting the same or the type of room we had been given ... so basically we should we getting stuff we never asked for in the first place!! The PSG team was staying in the hotel and on the floor below us which I assume was the receptionist gripe - I'm glad he never told me until we came home or I would have had something to say!

2 moijitos to celebrate was approx €38. Room service - the cheapest item was a portion of fries and it was approx €30 from memory + service. So we ate and drank in bistro - L'Entrée du Trianon, at the corner of Boulevard De La Reine near the roundabout you turn off at on the approach to the hotel. I say what the food was like in the hotel as we always went to this bistro and the cafés in the park and near by - but from the room service and drinks menu I presume dinner would have been expensive.

I would definitely go back - the location and decor is second to none and the service we had whilst there in person was excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bessybunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Trianon Palace for your stay in Versailles.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the issue you had with our Receptionnist, we are really sorry for that. We are pleased to read that finally you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to return, be sure that we will be pleased to welcome you back.
In the meantime, we stay at your disposal.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this Hilton property and being Diamond, were upgraded to the main building. It was well priced for such a property but the breakfast is extortionate. we splurged once but would not again. Nothing special. Cheaper than staying at Paris Hiltons and only a 25 minute train trip into the St Lazare station which is right near Concorde. Very convenient for the Palace as well with an entry gate right next door.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Trianon Palace and thank you for your nice comments.
I am pleased to see that as Diamond member you were upgraded to the Palace building, we did our best each time to offer an upgrade when it is possible.
As you mentioned, it is very easy and quick to go to Versailles to the center of Paris by train and you can take advantage from the quietness of our environment.
Looking forward the pleasure of your next visit.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a beautiful, spacious room with modern furnishings, nice amenities and a fantastic view toward the Palace of Versailles. There were goats and sheep in a serene, pastoral setting. The concierge was very helpful and courteous. The accommodated our early check-in. It was not a crowded time at the hotel and the main dining room wasn't open for dinner, but we enjoyed the hotel and the outdoor areas.

Versailles was free on the first Sunday of the month, which we were not advised of, and it was unbelievably crowded. We did not complete the tour. Also in early March the statues were still covered and the fountains were not yet working. Even so, the magnificence of the location was worth the visit.

The town was very charming and was easily within walking distance. We enjoyed the patisserie. We only spent one day and night in Versailles, but enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Trianon Palace for your stay in Versailles.
I am really pleased to see that you had an outstanding experience and that you liked your spacious and beautiful room and above all that you appreciated the helpfulness and courtesy of our concierge. I regret that you spent only one night and do hope that you will have the chance to return.
In the meantime, I remain,
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel to stay in. It is expensive but you get the quality you expect.
Our room was beautiful, it was not in the main building so it was a bit of a walk to get there but it also meant we had fantastic views of the main building and gardens. The room decor was modern and stylish and elegant. The mini bar was well stocked but as they usually are, well over priced! (when will hotels learn that patrons are not mugs! I would buy the whole lot if they weren't taking the mickey)
The gardens of the hotel are beautiful. The hotel is situated next to the gates of the Palace gardens / parkland very close to the Petit Trianon. In the other direction is is a short walk into Versailles town which is quite small, and very quiet at night but there are some places to eat and drink, and a wonderful Patisserie if you need to stock up on sweet treats.
Back to the Hotel...
The communal areas in the hotel are beautiful, comfortable and clean. The staff were polite and professional, I wouldn't say friendly but nevermind.
We ate in the Gordon Ramsay restaurant which was lovely, although I didn't appreciate the exaggerated killing of a poor unsuspecting spider by one one the waiting staff!
We also enjoyed cocktails which were divine!
We found breakfast far too expensive, it was required to purchase the buffet breakfast and we only wanted egg on toast so we ate elsewhere, again we don't mind paying for stuff but we won't just pay for nothing!
We were treated twice by the hotel to a beautiful sweet piece of art on a plate and some bubbly to celebrate our anniversary which was a lovely touch!
I look forward to returning to this hotel sometime again!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles and thank you for your nice comments.
I am pleased to read that you appreciated your room even if not in the main building and that you found it beautiful as well as our gardens. It is a real pleasure also to see that you enjoyed our gastronomic restaurant Gordon Ramsay and our cocktails. At last, I am very sensitive to your comment regarding our staff which is professional and to read that you will return.
Looking forward the pleasure of your next visit.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Enjoyed the room with a view of the Castle of Versailles, upgraded room with Hilton Diamond status. Never ate breakfast because the market in Versailles had great shops and the breakfast was very expensive. Lovely hotel for an anniversary trip. Versailles is a much slower city than Paris but just what we needed. The concierge's were the
best ever, very helpful. I appreciated the market and great restuarants being only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Never got into the pool but it looked awesome.

Room Tip: Buy breakfast stuff the day before at the market and enjoy the free tea in the room. Great slow star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles and thank you for your nice comments.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed staying with us and that you appreciated the helpfulness of our concierge. I do hope that you will have the chance to come back and maybe to take advantage of our swimming pool next time.
In the meantime, I remain,
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#12 of 26 in Versailles
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#5 of 26 in Versailles
311 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78000, Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Versailles
Price Range: $188 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Grand-style Palace & Pavillion building situated in 8-acre park bordering the Palace of Versailles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Palace Hotel Versailles
Versailles Trianon Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing