We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Building but service lets it down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Building but service lets it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

There is no doubt that the location is unsurpassed and that the building and furnishings are very nice indeed. However, when you charge €13 for a cup of tea and €27 for a sandwich everything had better be perfect. and it isn't. Concierge was reluctant to help and often away from his desk. Breakfast €37 was very dissapointing with the egg cheff again absent for the entirety of our stay in the restaurant and freshness an issue with lots of items on the buffet. I say lots, there were pineapple in 5 different places which seemed a bit strange, and actually quite a small selection of things compared with the Waldorf in Berlin.

Room Tip: Rom 321 is a corner room with two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and thank you for your nice comments regarding the location and the furnishings.
I regret that the service did not meet your requirements and sincerely apologize.
I took good notice of your comments that I shared with the concerned people.
Hoping that you will let us another opportuity to prove our merits coming back to our property.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    781
    363
    163
    94
See reviews for
604
1,455
80
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed in this for a business trip and was amazed with the scenery, luxury and quality of this hotel. Completely unmatched. I also realized that high profile dignitaries also stayed in this. And, given the space and luxurious gardens, i can understand

All the same,

1. as i reached very late, I found it hard to reach the reception from parking and had to cross over between building while it was raining.

2. in addition, my room was facing garden and had mosquitoes that did allow a pleasurable sleep. Actually, the window was open before i entered and by the time i realized from mosquitoes and closed it, they were already in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punitworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at Trianon Palace.
I am pleased to see that you seemed to appreciate our hotel and I took also good notice of your comments regarding the lack of roadsign to go from our parking to the Reception of the hotel. I would like to inform you that there is an underground corridor between the 2 buildings avoiding to go out when it is raining. I am sorry also that you suffered mosquitoes because the window of your room remained opened and apologize.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Trianon Palace Versailles is a beautiful property and in a beautiful location directly next to the gardens and parks of Château de Versailles. The city is beautiful, the Palace is amazing, and food was always good. The concierge was helpful and always tried to point us in the right direction and help us with great food advice. Thats about all I can say that was good about this Waldorf Astoria property. As diamond members and frequent travelers through Hilton properties, the service at this hotel left much to be desired. Unfortunately the people above us were quite loud and when trying to ask for assistance resolving this there was nothing they could do. When we attempted to order lunch during our normal times for eating we were told the kitchen was closed and when we tried to determine when meal times were we were told the times vary from day to day. The whole reason for staying at a Waldorf property was because of the endless service most of their staff at the Waldorf will go through to ensure a pleasant experience however this was not the case and my wife and I ended up moving to the CDG Airport Hilton in Paris for the remainder of our stay where we found service to be much better and much quieter.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor would be best since the floors are hollow. Also, most the rooms have good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us in August last year.
We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and that the service has not been upto your expectations and apologize. We regret that you only mentioned it now because we are very much concerned by the comments of our guests to take the necessary steps to improve the quality of service we offer.
We do hope that you will let us another opportunity to prove our merits coming back to our hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The location of the hotel is just perfect. We had our room facing gardens of Versailles, which was very nice. Also, I liked the french doors in the bathroom. I left it open when I was taking a bath, it's very relaxing to hear the noise of that wonderful garden and feel the breeze of the fresh air on your skin.

Let concierge book all the attractions in Versailles and Paris, that can save you a lot of time waiting in the queues !

Versailles palace is beautiful. I liked the Hall of Mirrors and the French gardens most and also Marie Antoinette's hamlet. It does take the whole day though.

Gordon Ramsay restaurant was good but there was some small things I didn't like. Food was very good, however the service a bit rushed and sloppy. They spilled some water on the cover just by not being too careful and left it as it was.

We really enjoyed our cocktails in the lobby. We felt that we were looked after very well by the member of staff with the glasses, so we returned next evening as well. The snacks provided were very nice as well.

The breakfast which we pre booked was good, quite a lot of healthy choices!

Also, just as we sat in the lobby to plan our day in Paris we were served some fancy coffee as well, which was a nice touch.

The train station to Paris - Versailles Chateau takes about 15 minutes by walk.

At the end concierge booked our taxi to Orly airport which took about 30 mins and cost 60 euros but taking into account how much hassle you have to go through otherwise, we didn't mind to pay for it.

Our stay in that hotel was fantastic, I will remember it for a long time, definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room with gardens view in the original building (not the pavilion) Corner rooms are more spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zajacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your very nice comments.
We are pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay at Trianon Palace and that you will remember it for a long time and recommend our hotel.
We duly noticed your comment about our Gordon Ramsay restaurant that we shared with the concerned people in order to do the necessary.
Looking forward the pleasure of your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Amazing Gordon Ramsay restaurants, beautiful park views over the back of Versailles, lovely rooms. Have stayed there many times for both business and pleasure. Sheep grazing on the hillside, palace park and forest with easy access to the palace grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for a Park view in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstopnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Trianon Palace and thank you for your loyalty.
We are pleased to read that you appreciate our hotel for business as well as for leisure and that you enjoy going to our Gordon Ramsay restaurant.
Looking forward the pleasure of yur next visit.
SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Trianon for my husbands 50th birthday and Valentines weekend.

Room service was hit and miss, after an hour of waiting our food arrived on a dirty table cloth no condiments and cold. Seeing as it was now 11 at night, we decided to go to bed hungry.

House keeping was a very poor affair: beds barely made, rubbish not removed, after going out after breakfast for 4 hours room was not cleaned. Coming into the room unannounced seeing us undressed.

Completely overpriced e.g. 10 Euros for a small cup of coffee and 25 Euros for a bowl of soup.

Approx. £200 had been added to our bill on things we hadn't ordered: mini bar, flowers which my husband had ordered for me where over charged, given the most expensive massage which though was nice I hadn't ordered (I'd asked for the less expensive one) but was added to the bill.

Pre-authorisation of Eur 1728.20 was taken on the day we checked in plus two others without our knowledge or consent. Simply they have continued to block about £1500 of our money which is 2 weeks after we checked out.

Overall the whole affair was shambolic, though we have been offered an upgrade (subject to availability) on our next visit. We wont be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foodies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sir,

Once again, we thank you for staying at Trianon Palace. As we wrote to you, we apologize once again for our mistakes and for the lack of service you suffered.
We are sincerely sorry also for the inconveniences you had regarding the issues with your credit card and perfectly understand the trouble caused to you however we assure you that we did our utmost to solve the situation in the shortest time. As you know, we went in touch with you regularly and we gave to you a summary of all the transactions made on your credit card with the ticket of each transaction. It turns out that some of the pre-authorizations did not go through and that is the reason of all these transactions. Finally, as we wrote to you, we did not have any more pending transactions in our system and do hope that, from your side, everything is in order now.
Staying at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

A taxi from Orly airport was €60 and took less than 30 minutes. A great experience from the moment we arrived, friendly doormen, efficient check-in ladies and concierge. The rooms were excellent, we had a corner double with a view of the palace and an adjoining twin for the children. Large and comfortable with spacious bathrooms (with under floor heating). We were in the main building which is very impressive (unfortunately the swimming pool and Gordon Ramsey restaurant were both closed, I assume because it was quiet the week we visited) however the bar and hotel restaurant were very nice. Breakfast was excellent, a great choice of hot and cold food with excellent friendly service, thanks to Eric and the team for looking after us. The hotel is also ideally located for a visit to the Versailles palace as there is an entrance gate to the palace gardens right next to the hotel. We did visit and were very impressed especially with the Hall of Mirrors. An excellent hotel and stay which we would recommend to everyone. The only sting in the tail was that a taxi booked by the hotel to take us to the train station in Versailles, less than 5 minutes drive (but not walkable with cases) cost us €20.40! What a rip-off. So either try and walk of book your own taxi and check the fare before you travel.

Room Tip: 402 in the main building was lovely with a view of the palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles and thank you for your nice comments.
We are pleased to read that you had a great experience at Trianon Palace and that you enjoyed everything. Regarding our swimming pool, in fact it is closed, for works, twice a year according the French Law. As far as our Gordon Ramsay, generally, it is closed also in February.
We are sorry for the price you paid for the taxi, in fact it depends from where the taxi came from to go to the hotel and that is the reason why it is sometimes expensive.
Hoping we will have the pleasure of your next visit in the near future.
SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
0.7 mi away
Pullman Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#5 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78000, Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Grand-style Palace & Pavillion building situated in 8-acre park bordering the Palace of Versailles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Palace Hotel Versailles
Versailles Trianon Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing