We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful building...........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

A gorgeous hotel in the peacful park of Versaille, the staff were helpful and friendly but there did not seem to be many of them on hand. Also we booked treatments by phone before we arrived and there was no recoed of the booking, then one of my friends cancelled as she had a headache and the spa had no record of that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdelarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles.
I am pleased to see that you liked our property. I am sorry about what you mentioned about your rendez-vous to the SPA. and sincerely apologize. We investigage immediately to avoid any recurrence.
Looking forward the pleasure of your next visit in the near future.
Sincerely,

Grégoire Salamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,183)
There are newer reviews for Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 3,183 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

I booked my trip about 30 days prior, so I expected the hotel was prepared to receive me, but I arrived and had to wit 1 hour to have my room ready.
I am a Diamond Member of Hilton, so I have some very special benefits, but some of those are not available at this hotel, like free breakfast. We have to pay €29,00 per person for a regular breakfast
The staff is really ok, not fantastic, they inform you just the basic. If you want some more information, you have to ask, like “Interesting places around” or what they have in the property.
The room is confortable, they have the traditional Salvatore Farragamo amenities and the bathroom.
From Charles DeGaulle airport we expect 1:45, so be careful with your flight time not to lose it and requested a Taxi at least 45 minutes before leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElcioBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Trianon Palace.
We are sorry that you had to wait one hour for your room, please accept our sincere apologies.
As far as the benefits for our members, that is true they are different from an hotel to another but be sure that we tried to do our utmost to make the stay of our guests as memorable as possible.
Waiting the pleasure of your next visit.

Grégoire Salamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here at the end of a holiday just for one night. It's a very grand hotel making a big impression on arrival, the hotel itself and the area around it. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel, over looking the gardens but still very nice and comfortable. We were also celebrating our anniversary which was mentioned on booking and shortly after our arrival a tray of goodies arrived, containing some petite fours and macaroons, all very yummy. However, with the tray there was a letter addressed to my partner welcoming us to the hotel, but it was obviously not personal, very generic. For such a smart, fancy hotel you'd think they had the time to try a little bit because something like that, so small, really does make the difference.

Overall, a very nice hotel in a lovely area. I think there are areas where a little bit more effort can be made to make it the grand, luxurious hotel that it is.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Versailles.
We are pleased to see that globally you spent a nice stay with us. We took good notice also of your remark that some details can make the difference and agree with you, so we were grateful you have drawn our attention on this point.
Hoping to have the pleasure of your next visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Grégoire Salamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Set in beautiful surroundings and gardens this has to be one of our favourite hotels, hence why we have now stayed here three times. It is just a short walk from Versailles and also Paris is within easy reach by train as there is a station within approximately ten minutes walk.

We arrived late on a Saturday evening as the last night of our European motoring holiday having driven up through most of France that day. We would however strongly advise against making the mistake of just staying here as a one night stopover on the way back to the Eurotunnel as there is just not enough time to fully appreciate this lovely hotel.

We were at first allocated a nice de luxe room on the fourth floor overlooking the gardens, but unfortunately after about fifteen minutes we discovered that there was no hot water plus the remote control to the TV was missing. We were kindly moved to a different room on the third floor, Room 301 which being on the end of the hotel has a lovely view of the park from one window and from the other window at ninety degrees there is a view over the trees where you can see the rooftop of Palais Versailles. The bathroom however had unfortunately no blind on the full length window apart from a thin net curtain which is okay during the day, but at night time when you switch on the light you are on full view to anyone looking up from the front of the hotel. We therefore had to use this bathroom in the dark since we like our privacy. We complained about this oversight when we checked out the next day.Hopefully this will now have been rectified.

There are in fact two hotel buildings set within the grounds. There is the main Palace Building where there are the de luxe rooms which include free use of the pool, sauna and steam room. The Pavillion building opposite built in more recent years has the standard rooms which are still well appointed but smaller and have less character. The bathrooms are also less well appointed. Both room types have very comfortable beds and of course the essential tea and coffee making facilities. There is ample secure car parking in the underground car park at a charge of 20 euro/day.

The breakfasts are superb and set a standard that many other hotels would envy with a wide selection of quality foods available. Gluton Free bread can also be provided on request however there should be sufficient choice from the buffet to suit all.

The pool is of a good size for a hotel, plus there is now an adjoining sauna and steam room which I do not recall being there on our last visit in 2010.
We did not use the restaurants, however we have found in the past the room service menu and food to be excellent.

Apart from the glitches this time we still enjoyed our stay. All staff were helpful, pleasant and courteous. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

We hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: De luxe rooms in the Palace building are worth the extra. Smokers note that there are a few smoking...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccr260243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for staying once again with us and thank you for taking the time to detail the information and your comments about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed each time your stay at Trianon Palace and that all staff were helpful, pleasant and courteous.
Looking forward the pleasure of your next stay which we hope will be longer.
Sincerely,

Grégoire Salamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just stayed there this past weekend. Yes, it is far from everything but that is exactly what we wanted. Our room was large and overlooked the inner garden. It was very comfortable. We love older homes with the high ceilings and good air circulation. Our bath was modern and very clean but not warm. The shower door dd not close tight enough and the shower itself was a bit hard to figure out. There is an overhead shower and a handheld one. I never did master the setting to just have one or the other on at a time. We had dinner on Sunday night in the informal dining room since the Gordon Ramsey dining room is closed on Sunday. We had the best lamb we have ever had. The meal could not have been better. The service was fine. The desserts were "to die for". The bill was about 1/3 of the Gordon Ramsey room.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank washashorecapecodma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Versailles.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had great food.
We took good notice of your comments regarding the bathroom and thank you for drawing our attention on these points.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely,

Grégoire Salamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place is so tranquil, it's hard to imagine. I have no complaints of concerns about this place, whatsoever. The only concern I even heard when I was there was about location of rooms. We stayed in a suite in the palace. Make absolutely sure you request this. It will cost way more, but if you don't, you will be stuck in the property accross from the palace that looks like a high school gymnasium. The contrast between the palace and this is mind boggling. However, if staying in the palace, the spa and pool are fantastic. Breakfast is of immense quality and quantity, and the suites are spacious and clean. If you're like us and love Paris, but sometimes like 2 or 3 days of complete relaxation and tranquility, stay here for sure. If you're in a suite that overlooks the pastures, you look out at goats grazing in the morning. It's hard to believe you're so close to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel being in Versailles.
We are pleased you enjoyed the place , the tranquility , the room, the breakfast, the pool, the spa, everything of your stay. It is sure that it is a privileged place and as you said it's hard to believe you're so close to everything.
We do hope that you will come back to the Trianon Palace and will be pleased to welcome you.
Sincerely,

Grégoire Salamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Service was outstanding. Room was excellent and it was everything you’d expect from a hotel of this brand and price. I felt charges for food and drink, including room service, was over the top even when compared to places like the Ritz Paris and other ‘great’ hotels around the world.

Location wise you should check exactly where you want to be at Versailles. The hotel although right on the edge of the Chateau Versailles gardens is by no means at the main entrance. It is a good 20 minute walk to the main entrance, or 15 minutes to the Grand Trianon. It’s also a 15-20 minute walk from the main town square. Therefore, you could say it’s not in the best location however if you are happy to walk the setting is stunning and a nice walk through the gardens was a great way to start the day but other hotels are closer to the main entrance and/or town.

The concierge was excellent as were all the staff. Pool area and gyms were a bit dated with a strange layout, but nice and they’d done their best to keep them modern. Spa and pool staff should know basic English (like where is the changing room, do I need to sign in, etc) and I don’t say that as an arrogant English man but given the high percentage of guests who were English/American and the Waldorf Hilton brand I would have expected them to be able to explain basic points in English.

All in all an excellent hotel with excellent service – but then again for the price paid this is the least you could expect.

Skip the restaurants though – and head into town for a great meal as suggested by other guests.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the original building overlooking the farm, but all the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the nice comments regarding, service, room, location, staff... I am delighted to read and share your comments with all our team.
I also took good notice of your comment regarding the Spa and Pool staff and we are going to organize some training to improve that point.
Thanking you for your feedback which is very helpful to improve the quality of our service.
Looking forward the pleasure of your next visit.

Sincerely,
Grégoire Salamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#9 of 26 in Versailles
554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78000, Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Versailles
Price Range: $237 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Grand-style Palace & Pavillion building situated in 8-acre park bordering the Palace of Versailles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Palace Hotel Versailles
Versailles Trianon Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing