We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a great experience”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

After staying few days in Paris, we had decided to try something new, and ended up to Trianon Palace hotel in Versailles. What a great experience. The first room they gave us was a disaster, a chambre de bonne in the fifth floor with hardly any light and very tiny. We talked to the reception and they gave us another room at the first floor which was truly great! Large room with big windows on two sides of the building, great big bathroom also with big windows and natural light.
The location in Versailles is great. You are right next to the parks of the castle for the great walks, and for visiting the Versailles palace could not be easier. Additionally, the city offers lovely athmosphere with lovely restaurants, shopping, an amazing food market and all this only 20 minutes train ride to the Paris center. We really fell in love with Versailles, and have to admit that even have lived in Paris for couple of years, never really visited the town of Versailles.
The hotel is just beautiful. Nice restaurants (one of Michelin, see review apart), great gym and spa, lovely swimming pool, great service and wonderful surroundings. This is a perfect getaway from hectic Paris for a couple of relaxing days. We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Avoid fifth floor rooms if you like natural light (though the views are great but windows small)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank expataecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    822
    384
    175
    98
See reviews for
652
1,566
84
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

On a business trip. For the most part this hotel deserves all five stars. The reason I give it four is because the two very lovely ladies at the front desk were slow and did not speak English very well. Normally this is ok; but this is the Waldorf Astoria. Management must see to it that all Customer facing staff are able to communicate effectively.

Daily buffet breakfast was a treat. The assortment of food and quality was outstanding except for maybe the scrambled eggs which were extremely runny...maybe it's just a European thing so can't take points off for that.

Room was "cozy" but not pokey! Well appointed for the business or personal traveler. Amenities were much better than average. WiFi access while powerful and readily available was highway robbery (25 Euros/day).

Room Tip: Have been there only once and did not stay in the main building. If you have a lot of luggage, or ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conradstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here the night of Sept 19, 2011, our last night in France. We booked the room through Orbitz.. The room was small but was beautifully furnished. The bathroom floor was dazzling but it took me several minutes to figure out how to use the hot/cold control for the shower. It was the most complicated control we used during our 16 days in various parts of France.
Except for the initial check in, our room key failed to work, causing a long walk from the annex where our room was to the front desk. The front did try to be helpful ad reprogrammed the key. We still could not get into our room. I again waked back to the front desk and requested a new set of keys to be sent up with a bell man. After walking back t the room and waiting several minutes for someone to appear, I headed back to the front desk and requested the manager. The manager, a young woman, did solve the problem and gave us some free drink passes. I also commented to her, that after spending 15 nights in France this was the first hotel/chateau we had stayed at that did not have free wifi. Also to note, we had previously had a drink at the bar before receiving the free pass, the cost of a mixed drink and a coke light was 20 euro's. A bit high.

Room Tip: Probably best to book directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howardbkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Trianon Palace as part of a weekend visit to Versailles. The hotel itself is right next to one of the entrances to the palace grounds, but about a 7-10 minute walk from the main entrance and ticket offices. My wife had booked the room on Hilton Honors points and since she was a Gold member, we were upgraded to a larger room in the main wing of the hotel as soon as we checked in, by an extremely friendly and courteous receptionist. A sign of the things to come, as we discovered.

From all accounts, these rooms which are part of the original hotel are far better than those in the 'new' wing, which I believe are more in line with the standard Hilton accommodations.

The room was very large and luxurious, with an enormous en-suite bathroom, and overlooked the hotel grounds. We checked in on a Saturday and spent the day in the hotel relaxing. We visited their excellent spa, which had a surprisingly big pool in a very nice space, and went to the jacuzzi, sauna etc..

We wanted to have dinner in the Gordon Ramsay Michelin star restaurant, but it was unfortunately ful. However, we were advised by a very courteous and friendly waiter that the food in the other restaurant came from the same kitchen and was pretty much the same, so it should really not make a difference:-) He was very quick to catch on that we were disappointed to miss out on the Ramsay restaurant, and made a real effort to assure us we weren't really missing out - I unfortunately don't remember his name, but his demeanour and attention were a credit to the hotel. We did eat at the other restaurant and the food was indeed excellent - a memorable meal accompanied by a half-bottle of Chateau Talbot for some indulgence. Excellent service throughout, while being completely unobstrusive.

Before and after the meal we spent some time relaxing in the verandah which is designed for guests to lounge in comfort, and where you were served tea and canapes in the evening, as well as breakfast the following morning.

All in all, one of the best experiences at a hotel for us all year, and highly recommend it for a weekend of indulgence. Even if you are paying full price for the rooms, they sometimes have offers running which still leave the prices a bit on the expensive side, but great value given the experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the old wing, not the new one. Worth at least a little bit extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sursin240382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful and elegant hotel in June 2011. Firstly, it is walking distance to Versailles Palace, which was the primary reason of our visit to Versailles.
This hotel is set in beautiful gardens, impeccably clean and beautifully maintained, with all the mod cons, neatly slotted in, in accordance with today's expectations.
Very helpful staff, speaking perfect English as befits the standard and price of this hotel.
A bus runs from outside the front gate and takes you to the restaurant area, if you wish to try the local, [very good], restaurants. This bus also takes you to the Train Station, from where to catch the train to Paris.
I would especially recommend this hotel for romantic special occasions.

Room Tip: I would say that all rooms in this establishment are good rooms......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here November 2010, for last night of 2 week road trip through France, before entering Paris for 4 wonderful days. Autumn in Versailles Gardens was simply stunning! Hotel is elegant & very beautiful. Stayed in 1 bedroom Park view suite: wow! Bathroom was outstanding, with park view balcony! Highly recommend. Lovely spa, very nice fitness center; all amenities & services expected for top 5* hotel. Hotel pictures & videos are accurate reflection of rooms & area. Versailles Palace & Gardens are a World Heritage site & definitely a "must see". Staying at this hotel just made the whole experience that much more enjoyable & special.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was our 2 nd time in this hotel (well actually this was the 1 st time we stayed in this hotel. First time, in 2010, they didn´t have a room for us, hotel was overbooked). But way they handled this unfortunate happening in 2010...
They gave us obviously a free night, but upgraded our room one level higher, so we had a bigger room and a balcony with the parkview!
Service was once again suberb. Congierge took care of our restaurant bookings and booked tickets for us to the Versailles lightshow.
We had two treatments at the hotels Guerlain spa. Imperial massage and a Radiance facial for me. It was relaxing and heavenly! (In my facial I would like to have my eye areas also treated but I guess it didn´t include to this treatment... anyway it was great!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
298 reviews
0.9 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#5 of 26 in Versailles
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#10 of 26 in Versailles
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78000, Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Grand-style Palace & Pavillion building situated in 8-acre park bordering the Palace of Versailles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Palace Hotel Versailles
Versailles Trianon Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing