We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Villa de la Piece d'Eau des Suisses
Ranked #6 of 8 Versailles B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay with our very French host family. Laure has eclectic tastes and the house, and room, are decorated in wonderful Parisian style. Comfortable bed, amazing views (cute street on one side, out over the lake on the other) and fast wifi. Location is amazing for visiting the palace and Versailles has some pretty good shopping options too. Only criticism is that we didn't feel like we could easily use the rest of the house without intruding, including the kitchen for getting a glass of water or making a cup of tea. Perhaps we were welcome to, but this was never explained to us so we steered clear and managed as best a we could in our (spacious) room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank benchickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first stop in France for my 2-week's holiday in France with my husband. He has been very skeptical about B&B but I insisted, and the experience at Laure's definitely changed his impression with B&B. The room was clean and tidy and spacious. The family was super nice. My husband lost his luggage when he arrived at CDG airport, and Air France did not manage to send it back to him till two days later, and Laure has helped a lot in dealing with the case and receiving the luggage for us even when we have checked out from her place. The place takes just 5 minutes walk from Versailles, with lots of nice restaurants around. If you drive, you don't have to worry about parking space as well, as Laure can arrange a secure place if one books beforehand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaKissKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My mother and I stayed here on our trip to Versailles, and this B&B is a gem! The location is fantastic - the room overlooks a beautiful lake, and the Palace of Versailles is just right down the block. The decor was very charming, the room was by far the most spacious out of the 5 different places we stayed while in France, and the bathroom was very large and very clean with a great shower! The hosts were fantastic as well - very engaged and helpful during our stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed at this B&B on Oct 27 on the first night of my 10-day trip to France. Instead of starting from Paris, I thought it might be eaiser (and more relaxing) to start from a smaller city like Versailles and I was right. Versailles is not big, everything is within walking distance. I arrived via the RER train (changed train once in Paris but quite convenient) and once out of the Versailles station, I simply walked to the B&B with the help of a print-out google map.

The B&B is run efficiently by Laure and her family. The house and the large bedroom are tastefully decorated, the bed is super comfortable and there are big windows on the two sides of the room, looking out to a small alley on one side and a lake on the other side. Although the bathroom is not ensuite, it is adjacent to the bedroom and is for the guests' exclusive use. The TV is a bit old but hey, as long as there is free wi-fi (which they have), I am happy.

And the breakfast was wonderful. Honestly there isn't much to talk about when it comes to French breakfast (croissant plus coffee and not much else), but Laure put in her special touch so there were a few choices of bread and different kinds of jam. But most importantly, the dinning room is beautiful. Every corner is photogenic and I was more busy taking pictures than eating breakfast.

I paid 120 euro for one night (one person only) and I considered this a very good deal. I could probably find a cheaper place in Versailles but since I only stayed in Versailles for one night, I thought I should do justice to this elegant city and this B&B is just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloversville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This perfectly charming B&B is nestled right next to le pièce d'eau des Suisses (lake) and our room on the third floor had a beautiful view. Quite lovely to wake up to! The adjoining bathroom is private and modern, with a large shower and plenty of hot water. The accommodations are immaculate, and the decor is cheerful, comfortable, and enhanced by the addition of fresh flowers. High-speed secure Internet access is available here, and that was a great convenience. The Villa is located very close to the Palace of Versailles and is also within comfortable walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. It is located on a quiet side-street; very peaceful and quiet. Our hostess Laure and her wonderful family, were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very French (pastries and breads), delicious and filling. We would highly recommend staying here , and hope to return again ourselves very soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
218 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The tourist info office recommended this place to us and we are very pleased they did. Parking for car in garage at reasonable price. Comfortable bed and room. Average French breakfast. Excellent hosts, friendly family - very helpful with recommendations. Location to visit the palace could not have been better. In 5 minutes walking we were on the palace grounds. Several teenagers in house but you never heard them - very well behaved. Close to local restaurants and shopping. Not far from train station. Very quiet - we had an excellent sleep. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this accommodation. We mistakenly left a piece of jewelry and Laure, our host kept it secure until we were able to return from Paris and collect it. Stay here and enjoy the palace and grounds almost outside your door!

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyviewEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Had a love 3 days in Versailles at one of the most beautiful area almost like being in the castle. The room overlooks "le pièce d'eau des Suisses"
the decoration of the room was welcoming. The family was warm and generous.
the "petit dejeuner" was extemely delicous a real french breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claude027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#5 of 26 in Versailles
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#17 of 26 in Versailles
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Villa de la Piece d'Eau des Suisses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa de la Piece d'Eau des Suisses

Property: B&B Villa de la Piece d'Eau des Suisses
Address: 6 rue de la Quintinie, 78000, Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The " Villa de la Piece d'Eau des Suisses " enjoys an exceptional location : facing the Orangerie of the Chateau de Versailles and the "cent marches", just in front of the Piece d'Eau des Suisses and its park with hundred-year-old trees. The house is sunny and comfortable, and has kept the charm and atmosphere of a family home. Prices on : Villa de la Piece d'Eau des Suisses. Here, you are close to the shops and restaurants of the rue de Satory, the Saint-Louis Cathedral, and the new "Cour des Senteurs" dedicated to perfume: you are in the heart of the historical neighborhood of Versailles ! Versailles is well served by three train stations (Gare Rive Gauche, Gare des Chantiers, Gare rive Droite) close to our house, allowing you to get to Paris in 20 minutes. By car, it's extremely easy to access to motorways without wasting time in traffic. Our house offers all the advantages of a bed and breakfast in a magical site, for an unforgettable experience ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your B&B Villa de la Piece d'Eau des Suisses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing