We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A l'Hotel des Roys
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$306
$282
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$234
$217
MGallery
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$126
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$101
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$64
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Versailles Chantiers(Versailles)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveler rating
125
174
55
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
174
55
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtrain stationde parislovely little hoteltypically french hotelfresh orange juice machineunderground lotsplendid hotelfinding restaurantsminute walksaint cloudan excellent restaurantconvenient hotelpublic parkingrooms are quietadjacent roomstwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 377 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

An excellent situation for visiting the Palace of Versailles- just 5 mins walk down the grand Avenue de Paris. The hotel doesn't have parking but there is plenty of on-road meter parking outside the hotel (free in August!). Room was comfortable with a little balcony over-looking the Avenue de Paris which was fairly noisy at night with the doors open, but not a problem. Breakfast was nothing special, apart from the freshly squeezed orange juice machine!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Despite the bustle of the city, the avenue de Paris can be pretty quiet thanks to the widness of the street. Thank you for your comment and come back anytime to taste again our orange juice. Best regards. Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is rated two star I believe, but we received better service by far than the four star hotel we are staying in at the moment in Paris. Great location, easy walk to Versailles and train station and from Hertz rental to return the car. Wonderful staff, everyone so helpful and friendly. They directed us to cafes, kept our luggage after check out so we could visit Versailles and then hired a taxi for us to get to Paris. The room was extremely clean, again better than the four star we stayed at in London. Freshly painted and the bathroom has been recently renovated from the looks of it with all new tile and a great shower. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was amazing! The best hotel breakfast we have had on our Europe holiday. Multiple variety of pastries and breads, fresh squeezed orange juice, excellent breakfast. One of the best stays we have had here in Europe, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hello, Thanks a lot. We're doing our best to please you and we appreciate your satisfaction. Hope to see you again very soon. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived at 12 noon and the charming Receptionist let us have it early. It was a great help. Sadly the room was to the rear of the hotel had no view (apart from the wall opposite) and worse, had no air conditioning. The electric wall fan was a big help but very noisy. The Room was clean and tidy but certainly not a place you would want to stay in for long. Fortunately we were our all afternoon and the evening but the room was so hot overnight we did not get much sleep. The breakfast was adequate but far too dear at 11 euros ! They did their best to ensure our comfort but it is a very old fashioned hotel and needs a lot of upgrading before we will visit again. The hotel is well placed for restaurants, railway station and Palace (although the queues to get in there were horrendous). We took the train to Paris and had a great time.

Room Tip: We did not see into any of the other rooms but I would suggest that a room at the front would be preferable to what we had.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

The way this old and authentic real estate is built doesn't allow the installation of the AC, that is why we put the fan in the rooms. Besides, the summer was particulary hot in Versailles this year. For the rest, the hotel has been renovated during the last five year so. Sincerely yours. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband had a meeting in Versailles before heading to a conference in Roissy so we chose this hotel close to the Chateau. The location and tree lined street were absolute perfection. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I decided to tour Versailles the next day so the hotel kept our luggage secure. The older gentleman at the front desk was very helpful in suggesting a place to eat (Le Boeuf a la Mode) and calling a taxi for us when it was time to leave. We also ate at Au Chapeau Gris in the area. Both restaurants were great and within walking distance from the hotel. The breakfast they provided was filling.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We're glad that you had the chance to discover Versailles thanks to your husband's meeting. There is so much more to see that we'll be happy to welcome you for your next trip here. Best regards. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to the Palace and within 10 minutes walk of the train station where regular trains take approx 40 mins to travel to Paris centre. We were travelling as an extended family group of 6 and had three people to each room. The rooms are small and cosy and what I would expect of a European boutique hotel in an old building. The room was very clean and tidy. We could park the car right out the front for EUR6 per day (metered parking). The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasMelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hello, Thank you and have a nice journey in France.
Welcome in Versailles for your next trip. Sincerely yours, Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews