We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A l'Hotel des Roys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A l'Hotel des Roys
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to the Palace and within 10 minutes walk of the train station where regular trains take approx 40 mins to travel to Paris centre. We were travelling as an extended family group of 6 and had three people to each room. The rooms are small and cosy and what I would expect of a European boutique hotel in an old building. The room was very clean and tidy. We could park the car right out the front for EUR6 per day (metered parking). The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasMelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hello, Thank you and have a nice journey in France.
Welcome in Versailles for your next trip. Sincerely yours, Bruno ROSÉ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    148
    48
    10
    8
See reviews for
92
113
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived at this hotel a bit early but they kindly let us store our luggage while we went off to enjoy the Gardens and the Palace.

The location of this charming hotel is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the train station and a short walk from the Palace and Gardens.

Our family of four stayed in one of the family rooms on the front of the building and it was perfect. Our teens took turns enjoying the top bunk and we had the "regular" bed. We had plenty of room for all our things and didn't feel too crowded despite there being four of us.

Breakfast was very good and worth the price. We were also able to enjoy some hot chocolates and café crèmes after returning from the Palace.

Yes, this is an older hotel but it had charm and elegance and the staff were very friendly and truly helpful. They were also so patient with me while I tried my best to speak only French.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Madam, Sir, Thank you for awarding our dedication in welcoming you as best as we can to make your stay in Versailles as perfect as it can be! We'll be here to welcome you with the same enthousiasm on your next trip here! Best Regards. Bruno Rosé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here two nights. This gave us time for a full day at the Chateau de Versailles as well as a short side trip to Chartres. There's free wi-fi and free weekend parking right in front on the Avenue de Paris. The staff were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, but otherwise nothing special. Considering that hotels in France can be very expensive, especially near Paris, l'Hotel des Roys offers a good value and a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello, In order to really enjoy the palace you need at least one full day, that's why it's better to stay the night in Versailles and try to discover the city and its surroundings. Thanks a lot and hope to see you soon. Bruno ROSÉ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Only spent 1 night on a stopover. Had booked their deluxe room but was disappointed with the room. I mentioned this to reception who kindly offered an alternative room if we wanted which was appreciated. Overall a good average for a 2* hotel. Reception staff where helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSJS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear client, Thank you for your comment. Indeed when you arrived we understood that the room wasn't what you expected, so we changed it for another one that you liked. You booked two rooms by mistake and we cancelled the second one with no charge when you arrived in order to satisfy you. We hope you enjoyed your stay here as we did our best for it!
Have a good trip in Europe. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed one night in the hotel for a business trip and found the rooms clean, comfortable and relaxing. The hotel is located in a beautiful avenue, set back from the road so is nice and quiet. I will come back to stay when I next take a trip to Paris and to see the palace nearby. The breakfast was excellent, especially the freshly made orange juice and selection of fresh fruit and pastries. I also managed to leave my work notes behind in my room and the receptionist kindly returned these to me right away, by airmail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Madam, It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and we would be glad to see you again for your next trip to Paris. Your professional notes are very precious so it seemed important to us to send them back to you very quickly! Best Regards. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on thames
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Perfect for Versailles, literally 10 min walk....really clean, quiet and friendly as well as being very good value. It's also easy to find.....will come back because the Marie Antoinette estate doesn't open until 12 and we had to leave by that time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-Kenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taradeau, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel - a true family hotel and we could bring out dogs as well. Well situated near the palace and the centre of Versailles.

When we forgot a personal items the hotel returned it to us by post - excellent service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diederik-vl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your comment that proves that we can go beyond our job as hotelier! Regards. Bruno ROSÉ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
1.0 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Versailles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Hotel des Roys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Hotel des Roys

Property: A l'Hotel des Roys
Address: 14 avenue de Paris, 78000, Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Hotel des Roys 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A l'Hotel des Roys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing