We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and excellent location”
Review of A l'Hotel des Roys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A l'Hotel des Roys
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent location”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here two nights. This gave us time for a full day at the Chateau de Versailles as well as a short side trip to Chartres. There's free wi-fi and free weekend parking right in front on the Avenue de Paris. The staff were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, but otherwise nothing special. Considering that hotels in France can be very expensive, especially near Paris, l'Hotel des Roys offers a good value and a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello, In order to really enjoy the palace you need at least one full day, that's why it's better to stay the night in Versailles and try to discover the city and its surroundings. Thanks a lot and hope to see you soon. Bruno ROSÉ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    158
    51
    11
    8
See reviews for
96
120
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Only spent 1 night on a stopover. Had booked their deluxe room but was disappointed with the room. I mentioned this to reception who kindly offered an alternative room if we wanted which was appreciated. Overall a good average for a 2* hotel. Reception staff where helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSJS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear client, Thank you for your comment. Indeed when you arrived we understood that the room wasn't what you expected, so we changed it for another one that you liked. You booked two rooms by mistake and we cancelled the second one with no charge when you arrived in order to satisfy you. We hope you enjoyed your stay here as we did our best for it!
Have a good trip in Europe. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed one night in the hotel for a business trip and found the rooms clean, comfortable and relaxing. The hotel is located in a beautiful avenue, set back from the road so is nice and quiet. I will come back to stay when I next take a trip to Paris and to see the palace nearby. The breakfast was excellent, especially the freshly made orange juice and selection of fresh fruit and pastries. I also managed to leave my work notes behind in my room and the receptionist kindly returned these to me right away, by airmail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Madam, It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and we would be glad to see you again for your next trip to Paris. Your professional notes are very precious so it seemed important to us to send them back to you very quickly! Best Regards. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on thames
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Perfect for Versailles, literally 10 min walk....really clean, quiet and friendly as well as being very good value. It's also easy to find.....will come back because the Marie Antoinette estate doesn't open until 12 and we had to leave by that time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-Kenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taradeau, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel - a true family hotel and we could bring out dogs as well. Well situated near the palace and the centre of Versailles.

When we forgot a personal items the hotel returned it to us by post - excellent service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diederik-vl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your comment that proves that we can go beyond our job as hotelier! Regards. Bruno ROSÉ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruchsal, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location of the Hotel des Roys is hard to beat, only a 5-minute walk to the palace of Versailles or to the train station for a trip into Paris. The room was very spartan and not very well appointed, especially the bathroom, which was very unclean and tiny. In fact, this was probably one of the smallest hotel bathrooms I've ever encountered in any country at any price point. The shower was full of mildew, which is absolutely unacceptable in a hotel, and the towels were very rough though absorbant. All in all, it wasn't the worst experience, but certainly not the best I've experienced in this price and rating category. The interactive system in the lobby for finding restaurants, shops, etc. was a really nice touch. The WiFi was free but quite unreliable and with a very weak signal. The elevator was about the smallest I've ever experienced in a hotel. It was too small for 3 people with luggage; definitely not for claustrophics!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExilAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Sir, Your comment saddens us. It's surprising because it doesn't fit the usual feelings people get when they come to our hotel. The fact that you found everything small is your appreciation that we surely understand, especially if you're used to big hotels. However, austerity and dirtness aren't a common thing in our hotel and please believe that we're making everything we can to change your mind during your next trip to Versailles. Best Regards. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a very special trip for my mother and I and I had mentioned this in two correspondence to the hotel so I was slightly disappointed that not one of the three people we encountered over the 3 days, 2 nights we were there from the gentlemen checking us in to the waiter/duty Manger to the gentlemen who appeared to be the Owner/Manager mentioned my correspondence!

The gentlemen who checked us in (J. Jaeques) was very friendly and when I asked if he could speak English and recommend a restaurant he pulled out a map and suggested one which sadly we didn't find but it was in an area with a few alternatives so that worked well for us especially as it was a public holiday unbeknown to us so quite a few places had closed.

That was the only conversation we had then with anyone at the Hotel, apart from one or two very polite Bonjour's! This isn't really a criticism as they were polite and I speak no french! but it was quite a differance to the amazingly warm welcome we received from the Restaurant I had booked for our second evening via Trip Advisor, we felt like VIP's "L'instant Fraicheur" 7 the Passage Saint Pierre, it's less than 5 minutes away and amazing! You should go!

I would recommend the Hotel as it is just perfect for a short stay in Versailles our room was nicely decorated, clean and suited our needs. The breakfast was absolutely delicious fresh fruit and yogurt with a wide variety of sweet and savoury offerings and the fresh orange (one of those machines you pop the whole orange in the top and it squeezes it there and then) was amazing.

If you are looking for value for money this independently run Hotel is perfect for its location to the palace and the RER C

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamThomas_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
1.0 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#12 of 26 in Versailles
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Hotel des Roys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Hotel des Roys

Property: A l'Hotel des Roys
Address: 14 avenue de Paris, 78000, Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Hotel des Roys 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your A l'Hotel des Roys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing