We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A l'Hotel des Roys
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$313
$281
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$120
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel la Residence du Berry(Versailles)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$257
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$125
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$89
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Campanile Versailles - Buc(Buc)(Great Value!)
$91
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(Versailles)
$103
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveler rating
125
174
55
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
174
55
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtrain stationde parislovely little hoteltypically french hotelfresh orange juice machineunderground lotsplendid hotelfinding restaurantsminute walksaint cloudan excellent restaurantconvenient hotelpublic parkingrooms are quietadjacent roomstwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 377 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location of the Hotel des Roys is hard to beat, only a 5-minute walk to the palace of Versailles or to the train station for a trip into Paris. The room was very spartan and not very well appointed, especially the bathroom, which was very unclean and tiny. In fact, this was probably one of the smallest hotel bathrooms I've ever encountered in any country at any price point. The shower was full of mildew, which is absolutely unacceptable in a hotel, and the towels were very rough though absorbant. All in all, it wasn't the worst experience, but certainly not the best I've experienced in this price and rating category. The interactive system in the lobby for finding restaurants, shops, etc. was a really nice touch. The WiFi was free but quite unreliable and with a very weak signal. The elevator was about the smallest I've ever experienced in a hotel. It was too small for 3 people with luggage; definitely not for claustrophics!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExilAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Sir, Your comment saddens us. It's surprising because it doesn't fit the usual feelings people get when they come to our hotel. The fact that you found everything small is your appreciation that we surely understand, especially if you're used to big hotels. However, austerity and dirtness aren't a common thing in our hotel and please believe that we're making everything we can to change your mind during your next trip to Versailles. Best Regards. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a very special trip for my mother and I and I had mentioned this in two correspondence to the hotel so I was slightly disappointed that not one of the three people we encountered over the 3 days, 2 nights we were there from the gentlemen checking us in to the waiter/duty Manger to the gentlemen who appeared to be the Owner/Manager mentioned my correspondence!

The gentlemen who checked us in (J. Jaeques) was very friendly and when I asked if he could speak English and recommend a restaurant he pulled out a map and suggested one which sadly we didn't find but it was in an area with a few alternatives so that worked well for us especially as it was a public holiday unbeknown to us so quite a few places had closed.

That was the only conversation we had then with anyone at the Hotel, apart from one or two very polite Bonjour's! This isn't really a criticism as they were polite and I speak no french! but it was quite a differance to the amazingly warm welcome we received from the Restaurant I had booked for our second evening via Trip Advisor, we felt like VIP's "L'instant Fraicheur" 7 the Passage Saint Pierre, it's less than 5 minutes away and amazing! You should go!

I would recommend the Hotel as it is just perfect for a short stay in Versailles our room was nicely decorated, clean and suited our needs. The breakfast was absolutely delicious fresh fruit and yogurt with a wide variety of sweet and savoury offerings and the fresh orange (one of those machines you pop the whole orange in the top and it squeezes it there and then) was amazing.

If you are looking for value for money this independently run Hotel is perfect for its location to the palace and the RER C

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamThomas_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel was a nice place to stay. The staff were very nice and helpful with recommendations and local reservations. One staff member in particular, Jean Jacques, made us a reservation at a very nice restaurant, which was just what we were looking for in a casual French dinner with kids.

The hotel was close to Versailles with a pleasant walk just down the street. Location couldn't have been better. Our family room was quaint with a double bed and bunk beds, but small. The bathroom was roomy with a nice shower.

The breakfast served in the hotel was the usual breads, cheese and fruit. Not spectacular, but convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Konatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello,
Thank you for your nice review. Indeed we try to put the service on top of everything and help the client in any way we can. We hope to see you again very soon.
Best Regards. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose the Hotel des Roys because of the positive reviews and location. The location is perfect. We travelled by train and the hotel is 5 mins walk from the station. It is also 5 mins (or less) from the Château de Versailles.

Our room was at the front with a view of the main road, although there was no intrusive noise. Although we book a 'family room' we had a double bed, single bed and cot, which meant the room was quit full. The room was smaller than anticipated, even allowing for french hotels. The rest of the hotel was very pleasant, clean and well decorated.

We don't usually have breakfast at hotels, preferring to go to the better value local cafés. But we had the hotel breakfast on the first day and it was so good we did the same for the remainder of our stay. There are a few restaurants near the hotel and lost more about 10 mins walk away.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 201 which has a view of the street
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingFoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Sir,
We would like to thank you for your comment and are glad to note your satisfaction during your stay. The quantity of our breakfast convinced you to stay at the hotel and have it there wich is very rewarding for us. We hope to see you again very soon and we're doing everything we can to make your next comment go to "perfect"! Sincerely yours. Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

When I saw this is a ** Hotel, I could not believe it: the best ** Hotel I have ever seen! Very good French breakfast, very strategic location for visiting the castle, maybe some rooms are very small (mine was, ask for bigger ones!), but all are very well equipped and clean. My hosts booked the hotel and did a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YK-Urbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello,
Indeed we wish to offer you the quality of a 3 stars at the rate of a 2. Your comment proves that we reached our goal, and we'll keep it that way.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews