We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm,welcoming...perfect!”
Review of A l'Hotel des Roys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A l'Hotel des Roys
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We atsyed a night in the A l'Hotel des Roys when we were visiting the Palace of Versailles recently. It really is just 500 metres from the palace entrance & a lot more homely than the palace I must say!
The rooms were immaculate. Ours was a small room which was not a problem however if you require more space you might like to ask about this. The bathroom was clean & well appointed also.Again quite small however this did not bother us.We had the most delicious breakfast & found the staff very warm & welcoming & they made the best coffee for us!
The man at the front desk was very helpful in a number of ways & pointed out it would be cheaper for us to park our hire car outside for the day which we did. He came out to assist whilst we English speakers tried to decipher the mysteries of the parking ticket machine & walked over to help very kindly helping & making sure we had the right ticket. He even [ut his hand into his own pocket to get correct change. I cannot speak to highly of this man's kindness & he said he would watch our car as it was directly parked outside the hotel. This was reassuring as we were leaving the hotel & so our bags were in the car also for the day.
After our visit to the palace & gardens I called into the hotel to thank this many for his help & he said to me that you get back what you give. He was so gracious & kind & we are sure to return when next in France as we are keen to explore the gardens further on another visit. I can't recommend this hotel too highly!

Room Tip: As noted...ask if you wish to have a larger room. Ours was fine however if this is a problem do ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancescaMarguerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Mrs, M.
You're pointing up the quality of our service and we would like to thank you for that. It's always a pleasure to make our guests trips easier. We're expecting to welcome you again very soon.
Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 365 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is extremely well located for a visit to the Château de Versailles. Within 5 minutes of slow walking we reach both the Château and the city center with its restaurants and stores. The quadruple room we stayed in was very adequate with a double comfortable bed and a good bunk bed. The bathroom was very functional and clean. Breakfast was €11 per person, and we found it to be of good value for money. Public parking available in front of the hotel. We highly recommend the hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serafimaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Hello,
Your satisfaction delights us and it's with a great pleasure that we are waiting for you to come back for another trip!
Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, its a great find. The Hotel is a short walk from the Palace and great restaurants. The room was very clean, and offered everything we needed (tv, air dryer, soft towels, a large bath/shower). Our room was on the fourth floor at the front, but we didn't hear any street or traffic noise. The room was tastfully decorated and the bathroom was large for french standards. The beds, both double and a single are very comfy. BUT the best thing about the stay was the staff, they were simple lovely. The front desk staff were very helpful and welcoming, they advised get restaurants and things to do, and even helped us navigate our way back into the centre of Paris. I would stay here again and again. Truely a great cheap hotel.

Room Tip: Book in advance as this hotel books up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louplouBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Customer.
Thanks a lot for all these compliments wich are very pleasant to read!
Don't hesitate to come back, w'll do our best to satisfy you again.
Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is in a stunning location about 500 metres from the Chateau of Versailles. The Avenue de Paris is a beautiful tree-lined street with lots of parking, though outside of August and weekends it's not particularly cheap parking. I was there in August and got a spot directly outside the hotel so didn't have to use the parking they offer.
The staff were very polite and helpful. The room was definitely small, decor was quirky, but the room and bathroom seemed very clean which was all I was particularly worried about. I don't think I would have wanted to stay there long, especially as I had a view of a roof across the way, but as I was just there overnight to see Versailles I wasn't too worried about the view.
The hotel is well situated to wander about and find places to eat. The Eglise de Notre Dame (not the Hunchback one, the newer smaller one) is 5-10 minutes walk and you pass multiple restaurants, cafes, boulangeries etc. as well as a market. I didn't have the hotel breakfast (11 Euro) as didn't want to commit the night before; I'm sure it would be good as the food shops around the area looked amazing, but just as easy to wander around and grab a coffee/croissant for 6 Euro which is what I did.
Overall the hotel was very good. If I was there for any length of time I would like to have a room that wasn't quite so box-y but for one night and the very reasonable cost and great location I can't really fault it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Client,

Thank you for this long comment that implied an answer.
Outside of the free parking period (every night+saturday and sunday), you'll only have to pay 6€ per 24 hours(so, approximatly the price of a coffee whith a croissant!) wich is very reasonable price (especially compared to the price of the parking in front of the Palace).
The hotel was built during the 18th century so the buildings are overleeped, wich is the charm of the older properties...
You didn't get a chance to try our breakfeast wich is a share since for less than twotimes 6€ (11 to be precise) you could have had the coffee and the croissant that you mentionned in your comment but also some fresh orange juice, charcuterie, cheese, dairies, cereals, fresh fruit salad and a lot of other things at will !
We hope to welcome you again and make you discover all of our services.

Best Regards.

Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a great hotel in one of the (if not the) best locations in versailles. Just a few hundred metres from the Chateau.

The welcome from all the staff was fantastic. They will really go out of their way to help you and all with good grace and a smile.

The bedrooms are small as has been said and it is this and only this that prevents me from giving it 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

The warnest of welcomes is essential, especially for our foreign clientele who deserves a particular attention.
Our bathroom are indeed small but decorated accordingly to the rooms and equiped with evrything you need!
We hope to see you again very soon.

Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A lovely hotel, only a 5 minute walk from the Chateau and the market square. The managing director and his staff were more than welcoming, suggesting places to eat, where to park etc... The room on the 4th floor was not particularly big but was clean and nicely refurbished.

Definitely worth a visit and worth more than its two stars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizpingeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your comment.

Indeed we can't extend the rooms but we put a lot of care in their renovation for your comfort.
May be this is what might deserve a third star...!

Best Regards

Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great location for visiting the Place of Versailles and surrounding areas. Plenty of restaurants, grocery, and pharmacy retailers. The beautiful, tree lined Avenue De Paris is a wonderful place to just sit and watch locals and tourists. There is a train station that is just around the corner and leaves for Paris every 15 minutes. (depending on where you are going.) Very quick to the city and back for 7.50 euro full fare trips. The train line can take you directly to the Eiffel Tower in under 30 minutes!!

The rooms at the hotel are small and very simple. However, they are also very clean and great for a place to sleep and go. Which was the main goal of the stay. The hotel still has a French quaintness and European charm. The staff was very courteous and communicative. The staff speaks English well enough to get most anything you need for comfort and advice.

I found the hotel to be of reasonably good value as I booked two rooms for 1 night @ 198 Euro total including taxes. Free local parking the entire month of August 2012.

Great place to see Paris via Versailles!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hello,
We thank you for this comment that shows that you can stay in Versailles, visit the Palace, enjoy this wonderful city an go to Paris very easily.
Our hotel is good value for the money conversely to most of the parisian ones and a trip to Versailles is always a pleasure!
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
535 reviews
1 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#5 of 26 in Versailles
319 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Versailles
0.2 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#10 of 26 in Versailles
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Hotel des Roys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Hotel des Roys

Address: 14 avenue de Paris, 78000, Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: $89 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Hotel des Roys 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your A l'Hotel des Roys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing