We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disgusting and filthy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Lille- louvre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Lille- louvre
Ranked #1,695 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
The Haque
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disgusting and filthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here 1 night in roomnumber 9 on the 3th floor. It costed 93,- euro's. The bed on headsite looked as if hundreds of filthy heads layded/rubbed against it (brown spots). It was also very old (antique but not cared for) and bottom was very bad (if you have a bad back, this bed hurts). Everywher dust, top and downside. The bathroom we first had to clean because of other lifeforms that may live there. Mold on the showercurtain, the door (wood) covered with mold and black funguss. There was also left a pizza box with lefst over from previous visitor. Only the sheets en towels looked fresh and we used to cover the pillows on the bed and the floor. Not budget and not clean. Only positive thing was that is was very close to Notre Dame, the Louvre and centre Pompidou.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hellybelly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    33
    34
    70
See reviews for
29
74
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

i read the reviews in 2008 over and over before i placed my order. i went and loved it. It is exactly as stated. A room with clean bedding, in a nice part of town with Khaled, who is lovely as your contact. I even moved to a different room to get a feel of the place, so I had a single and a double, as I traveled alone. Many will hate it, There is no glamour. If you are not one to live out of a bag, and travel by the seat of your pants by nature, then this is not the place for you-- get a regular HOTEL and be happy. but if if you are the traveler who just wants to stow your bags in a lovely little Parisienne garret, in an alley off the beaten path, meet the man who works there, and get a feel or real Paris, after you haul your bags up the steps, then this sir, or maam, is the spot for you! I will go there from now on. It is funky and divey and i loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fierce13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Planed to use this hotel as a day room 05/22/11 really just wanted a shower before going back to the airport and the great location 2 blocks from the Llouve just couldn't be beat. We arrived about 3pm and were leaving at 3:30. The hotel is on a beat up llittle street and the room up 3 flights of tiny steps. On entering the room which was hot was a little bleak. We soon discovered the bathroom was put together with a lot of duct tape and didn't seem worth it to try to shower. We laid on the bed for a minute to discover a huge, with of the bed pillow and no others provided. We got up and to our amazment tried to sit at a small table and one of the chairs was broken and would not allow anyone to sit on it. With this we decided to leave and it was back to the airport. Cannot imagine what this room would be like in the dark, what would come out of the woodwork.? The room was 78 Euro's and just another example of how the french could care less, you're just a tourist. Did not see any evidence of air or heat, you must be kidding. Don't book this hotel and expect anything as the picture was taken a long time ago. Paris on the whole is a beautiful city, but the local people with the FRENCH attitude leaves something to be desired. My grandson hated the city, the number of problems we encountered and never wishes to go back. There are lots of beautiful citys and Paris isn't all that great. The local prices are out of control and the french don't have a monopoly on the tourist trade. Perhaps with the bad economys of the planet people will choose to go where they are valued and appreciated but above all welcomed.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank santapaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I stayed here for three nights at the end of Arpil. It is a budget hotel so is basic (but clean), and needs updating, the location is fabuklous. Contrary to other reviews I found the staff to to be friendly and healpful. I was in a shared bathroom room, and these again were old but clean. It is an old hotel so no there are no lifts, and yes the walls are very thin, but for a short stay I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: It is less than 5 mins walk to the Louvre, 15 mins
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Yes It´s cheap, and it's in a good location, however the place is smelly, dirty, the charge you 3 euros per shower, and our room was in 4th floor without elevator. The man is so rudeee!, the first thing he told us, before saying hello, was "pay me now". Imagine our amazement!
We prefer to pay the first night and go to another hostel at 10.00pm far away but clean and in good conditions with owners kind and in a better place, despite travelling travel everyday to the centre by metro. Don't go there is awful!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolarg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivoli, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

The place was dirty and old, no wardrobe, tiny bathroom, dirty and noisy. No light along the corridor. Just close to the city centre but nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magichela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

the service was rude and we had to wait to check-in because no one was there. 3 rooms have no private shower so you have to borrow the only key of the hotel to the public shower - which is possible as long as there is someone at the reception, which closes at midnight. we came back at 1 pm after an evening out to find out we had to forget about showering that night for this reason. we were explained that showers late disturb other customers.
seeing as we wanted to enjoy the paris nightlife and still yet shower at night, we switched to a larger room with private bath for the last 2 nights. this room had only one window which over looked a narrow lightwell - ie the room was not only dark day and night, but due to absence of air conditionning, we had to leave the window open and we got to hear a concert of toilet flushes all night, as well as other customers' private conversations (the things we heard !!!) with all the noise of course, we slept terribly in the squishy, uncomfortable bed. In addition, the room was very dodgy and the cleanliness of the bathroom very questionable. the bathroom - and the room - had a slight mold smell the whole time.
Last but not least, they make you pay upfront at check-in - which I am almost certain is not legal - which means you cannot switch hotels without loosing money.
this place - the last we visited on our honeymoon - gave our paris escapade a slightly moldy aftertaste, and we tried to spend as little time as possible in that horrible room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jujucharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,149 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#786 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#645 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
#892 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
#201 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
BEST WESTERN Premier Louvre Saint Honore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Lille- louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lille- louvre

Property: Hotel de Lille- louvre
Address: 8 rue du Pelican | 1st arrondismont, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,695 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel de Lille- louvre 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Lille- louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing