We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant presentation but overcooked rice”
Review of Sushi Shop

Sushi Shop
Ranked #12,797 of 16,978 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Elegant presentation but overcooked rice”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The most beautifully presented sushi I've ever seen.

Unfortunately the rice was gluggy and it didn't taste anywhere near as good as it looked. In fact, while it is the most beautiful it was also one of the worst tasting. Hopefully this is an isolated experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerri54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    14
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
basel
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful fresh Sushi close to Moulin Rouge”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Chef Thierry Marx has a chic take on Sushi Take out, and we enjoyed excellent, innovative lunch sushi menu at a reasonable price - EUR 56 for four people (no dessert).
It is nice that the Sushi are freshly made and sold in cardboard containers, a nice switch from the usual smelly black plastic. Also, they serve sweet soy sauce in addition to the regular salty version.
The condiments are in individual packages, more hygienic than most.
There seem to be 20 locations in Paris - ours boasted a friendly staff and a round-about good experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank businessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Sushi, horrible service!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Very bad! I purchased my overpriced tasteless sushi and proceeded to sit down in the restaurant and I got told that I did not purchase enough sushi for me to qualify to sit down in their restaurant! What the.....? They only had one other customer sitting down eating. Avoid this place even if the idea of sushi is tempting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yannick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Balanced Japanese Take Out Meal (Montmartre)”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Sushi Shop at 19 rue Lepic
75018 Paris
Chef etoille/star chef is Thierry Marx, an incredible chef that combines traditional with modern all organic true Japanese gastronomics. This is not a sit down restaurant. Only take out. But French and tourists like moi luuuv it and wait in long queues (lines) fighting over the only 3 chairs available to sit outside in the cold!
We ate the following byte size sushi types: boef wagyu with miso truffe sauce, with gingembre & ciboulette (yes I ate red meat this day with truffle sauce, ginger & chives), crevette (shrimp), tambourin bar-kiwi, with yuzu sauce, black tulip with oeufs de hareng fumes emrobes de lamelles d'avocats (eggs of smoked herring wrapped in fine strips of avocado, riz nature (white rice; it is important to know this is a Chinese rice, tender whose grains are swollen up and well detached from each other, unlike the sticky Japanese rice); des salades : de carottes (carrot) a l'orange and de choux (cabbage), with sweet and/or salty/regular soy sauce, lots of wasabi all drenched in authentic Japanese sake' “Le Poet Errand” Junmai Ginjo (fresh, not bottled ahead of time), organic pomegranate green cold tea. For dessert we had a bowl of mangue fraiche (mango salad) and Mi-cuit chocolat-caramel, fleur de sel (hot chocolate mini cake with caramel flowing from the middle. Yummy dinner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELSENSE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fast-food Sushi”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stopped to get some sushi and ordered at the counter. We then sat down in one of the two small tables outside. They brought our rolls and they were pretty tasty! Not that expensive either. The miso soup was extremely bland though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aim2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Shop also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Sushi Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing