We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Saveurs & Coincidences - CLOSED

Saveurs & Coincidences
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I discovered this restaurant by accident and am very glad I did. After finding it I went there every day for either lunch or dinner. The lunch at 12.7 Euros for two courses was a bargain, and the food was always interesting and good. Unlike two other reviewers, I had no problem at all with the service. The owner was happy to recommend wines, and dishes too. I did NOT find that there was limited choice. The menu of the day was appropriately limited, as it should be, but if you order a la carte there's choice enough.
The restaurant is very popular with locals, especially at lunch, and I take this to be a good sign.
At times I felt I was getting gourmet-quality food at less that gourmet prices, and I intend to return next year when I am back in Paris.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    15
    9
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible wait, average food at best, and high prices”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I read the other reviews (the negative ones) and unfortunately, my experience was similar. A friend found out about this place using lafourchette and said it has to be a safe bet. It wasn't. We waited 45mn for the starters! I ordered Pied de Porc Tatin, and it was something I wouldn't feed my dog unless I wanted him to get one or two heart attacks in a row. Scraps of overcooked pork skin and fat on top of something. Then the main dish, actually I don't remember what it was, but it was barely average. We waited 30mn for the main (after the starters). The table next to us was left waiting to order approx 20mn. They mixed up my dessert, I ordered profiterolles and I got cheese. So I had to wait a little longer. My friend said "time is not important". I disagree :) My opinion is that I wasted a culinary experience. As I said in the title, it was horribly overpriced as well, and the 40% off through lafourchette only put the price tag to "overpriced". I have no idea why this place is packed. Service was ok, besides the little mix-up. They forgot to give us spoons for the dessert but that was the only thing. Otherwise quite friendly service.Last thing: the "chef" is apparently limited in ingredients and/or imagination, we noticed the same stuff (fish eggs, soy sprouts,...) in 3 out of 4 of our meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bunbunbun_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food at great price”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very good food, mostly organic, a nice discovery in this area where even expensive restaurant are not of great quality. Service is friendly and efficient. Not a lot of choice in the menu but that the price for the fresh food. A very nice experience, in a friendly atmosphere, and a typical place to go with friends and family.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This place had gotten some good reviews here on Tripadvisor and on other sites, so I had high hopes. When we got there, the place was full, mainly with French people, also a good sign.
Liked the decor a lot, the owner was extremely nice and friendly. Things kind of went downhill from there.
The service was obviously new at her job. She was nice but not particularly aware. When asked for a wine recommendation, she stated she really had no idea. She then forgot the wine order and had to be reminded.
The appetizers were quite good: shrimp guacamole and a cabbage puree. Good start.
But as crowded as they were, they did not check back with us hardly at all. Never an offer to refill our carafe d'eau or to get us another glass of wine, which was nothing special.
The entree was not good. My friend and I each got the rib eye steak, horribly fatty and grizzly. The roasted potatoes and the lettuce with balsamic on them were nothing special.
We left genuinely surprised the place was so full. Maybe they had a bad night or were just incredibly crowded and could not serve well.
In general though not an experience I'd repeat.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GJR1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saveurs & Coincidences also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing