We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The WORST experience you will ever have in Paris” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bastille's Pub

Bastille's Pub
Ranked #13,373 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bastille / Oberkampf
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The WORST experience you will ever have in Paris”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Do NOT bother speaking French to these people. They are crooks.

I came here with my sister noticing the menu board outside saying something like €16,90 for a set menu.

I made sure to ask if it was applicable for dinner (it was dinner time, but I wanted to double check since it sounded too good to be true).

Upon them reaffirming the above and us sitting down, we were still presented with a menu (la carte). I then proceeded to ask the waiter (the slimmer one) if the set menu also included items from the menu he gave us, to which he replied yes, saying 'You can choose any of these'

The food was horrible, to say the least, but that's not what horrified us.

We were presented with a bill of €49,50 and when we confronted them about it they started arguing with us, saying that we were 1) blind; 2) supposed to have known better, and 3) delirious since the waiter kept denying to his boss that he said we could have anything we wanted.

We continued arguing in English this time as my sister and I were fed up of this terrible treatment, to which they simply ignored us and waited for us to pay up. To be honest, I really wanted to just walk off. But they looked like crooks and had demonstrated themselves to be so, so we just paid them €50 and left.

What was the most infuriating is that a girl who was waitressing there COMPLETELY understood our situation, and gave us pitiful looks, confirming to us that those two men (the other one-- the short bald chubby one-- must have been the owner, since the waiter kept telling him 'no, i did not say that') knew what they were pulling. She didn't have the courage to say anything in our defense and even avoided our "say something" looks.

Later on in the evening when I recounted the story to my friend he said we should have known better than to go into a pub called "Bastille's Pub" in Bastille. I hadn't given it much thought, but oh well.

DO NOT EVEN STEP IN. The people here are ALL cheats and liars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shoepergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    5
    7
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
merimbula
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surely not...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went there attracted by the young crowd that was present and lack of seating in its competition (probably should have raised suspicions). The owner IS friendly when you are on the street looking in, but even with our attempts to speak French, we were left wanting some decent service. Upon seating, we were forgotten about for about 1/2 hour before we were offered menus. Another 1/2 hr passed before we could gain the attention of staff to get a drink.

With our feet so sore from tramping across Paris all day we stuck it out. The food was terrible when it came out and the final straw was having to ask for the bill 4 times! Not a nice way to spend your last night in Paris.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming, typically french bistro, but not for a quick meal...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This was a very charming little "pub", and overall we had a great afternoon sitting and people watching, a very Parisian pursuit!

It did however take an hour from the time we sat down until our entree arrived. But once we got going the meals were quite good.

The owner was very hospitable and loved a chat (probably part of the reason for the slow service), but he made us feel very comfortable.

Would definitely go back for a drink and a meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBizzleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great place, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The previous 3 reviews are clearly competitors or reviewing the wrong place (there isn't a downstairs or a bouncer)....
my wife and I ate here twice last week and visited 3 times overall. The owner was very friendly, speaking to us each night, and the barman was a very chatty and friendly guy, remembering what my wife and I drank, and that my wife was vegetarian. They adapted meals on the menu to accommodate my wife not eating meat with no fuss.
A great bar. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulConfused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not come here for food or drink, it's horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Whatever you do, do not get the pasta, it has come out of a pot and smells quite like vomit. I had better food in the school cafeteria. Prices are reasonable, if you like paying for something that was probably cooked in a shoe. My 8yr old brother could have cooked better food. Do not be fooled by the happy hour €5 prices, as the beer was watered down, and the cocktails definitely didn't have any alcohol in them. Do not come to this 'pub', it's useless...

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank philledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bastille's Pub also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Bastille's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing