We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quality food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Elles - CLOSED

Les Elles
Price range: $22 - $43
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
Paris, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Special kudos to the deserts, cooked by the very friendly lady owner of the place. Menu is quite creative , mixing asian and western influences, good maincourses. Only downside is the very small space, you have a good chance to eat at a table almost touching your neighbour if you are only 2, even if the restaurant is half empty: indded the waiter didn't allow us to seat at a table of 4 ias we were 2, despite we arrived for dinner at 10.30pm and 3 tables of 4 were available and not booked ! Otherwise the waiter is a charming guy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“jekyl and hyde?i”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

like buffyramm's review we found this place very disappointing. Stay just a few doors away for 2 weeks we thought we'd give it a try, earlier reviews seen suggested it was vietnamese/french seafood style - found it nothing like this - blackboard menu, over priced for what you get - VERY disappointed. Don't waste your money

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A (slightly flawed) gem in the Marais”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a delightful stroll down a multicultural culinary path with just a minor bump on our way to gastronomic nirvana. We had seen this little place when strolling past on several occasions, and with some good online reviews, we decided to give Les Elles our business on our last night of a week of dedicated eating in Paris. We were rewarded with a comforting, but moderately novel meal reflecting the chef's unique take on Asian and French cuisine.

The small dining room seats only 24 in banquettes and chairs on either side, and the tiny kitchen is partly open at the back. Decor is whimsical and inviting, and lighting is just right. Some nice jazz murmurs discreetly from the CD player at the back.

For starters, we had what is billed as "vapeurs" (13 Euros) which the waitress struggled to explain, but what we would describe as steamed dumplings and pot stickers: six or seven varied formats of flavorful succulent morsels, looking like the usual Chinese items, but filled with unusual flavors and ingredients (perhaps salt cod, or rabbit, or whatnot). All were good. Our other dish was a deeply flavored plate of ravioli (11 Euros) filled with an intensely concentrated mushroom filling, with more mushroom flavor in the jot of buttery sauce, and with a nugget of foie gras in the middle of the plate. Extremely good.

We both had the quail with tandoori spices (16 Euros). This was a well conceived and executed marriage of cultures. A whole quail (in halves) was roasted to perfection; crispy skin, but still rosy near the bone, meat very moist and juicy. This was certainly not a traditional tandoori, but rather a deft utilization of that flavor palate in a French preparation. A nice warm barley salad, with some bites of various vegetables and a scattering of fresh cilantro completed the plate. We both were sucking the bones by the end of the course.

Dessert was a let-down. We are not entirely sure we got what we thought we had ordered (see below), but we finished with a thin round of a pound cake with sliced strawberries, with that horrid red viscid glaze most commonly seen in grocery store items. The other dish was more akin to a simple chocolate pudding interspersed with chunks of meringue. Neither showed any of the inventiveness of the first two courses, or frankly much of anything. Desserts were 8 and 9 Euros.

Two complementary shot glasses followed, with instructions to guess what was before us. One was a lychee liquor, the other mango, both pleasant.

The wine list is modest, perhaps 15 or 18 bottles, priced from 15 to 30 Euros. We had a serviceable if unmemorable shippers Morgon at 25 Euros, and two coffees.

The chef/owner and the staff are Asian, and French and English are second languages, and while one of us is fluent in French, there may have been some nuances in explaining the menu that went missing. Also, there are no menus; the offerings are presented at tableside on hand written (and erased) chalkboard, so you have to choose quickly. You may want to study the other chalkboard in the front window before entering to get a sense of the evening's offerings.

Service was warm and charming. It was the chef's birthday and she came out to greet and hug the customers. All very mellow.

The bill was 103 Euros, and if one could be more successful in picking desserts, it would would be an outstanding experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst dining experience I have ever had.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I walked by this restaurant several times during our recent stay in Paris. We thought it looked warm and inviting, but no one was ever in it. We had already had several lovely dining experiences, one being at Les Philosophies. It was our last night so we thought we would give Les Elles a chance.
First thing we ordered our drinks. They had no beer to offer. This seems a little odd for a restaurant of any merit. Then I started noticing the shabby, and not so chick, decor; a broken lamp with dust and dead flies flanked our table, the table was trimmed with duct tape holding it together, and there were no menus to order from. Instead the waitress brought over a menu board which she held up while we made a selection.
The food was terrible. It was slathered in sauce likely made from a packet. Mine was a curry that was salty and slimy. It was topped with over cooked frozen veg. Not a fresh morsel in site. My husbands was covered in Maggie sauces masquerading as gravy.
I stopped eating because I was starting to feel ill from the thought that we were spending our last precious night in Paris eating dog food in this hole. Suddenly the woman, whom I assume is the owner/ chef, the woman who had been in and out several times to smoke a cigarette while still wearing the plastic gloves she was preparing our food with, was standing over me demanding to know why I was not eating. She offered to take my food away and do something to it to make it more edible for me,but I declined this tempting offer fearing I might have to eat what ever slop she brought back while she stood over me and watched.
We opted out of desert and were walking out the door when the woman leapt out at us insisting on giving us a kiss good bye. This kissing thing is just a ploy on her part to distract folks from the horrible food!
I am deeply confused by these glowing reviews listed here. Are there two Les Elles on the same street?

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank BuffyRamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

Got there due to this site. Was one big eating party. Christine and staff go all the way to make you feel good.

Food is fusion style, meaning a cross over between asia and french cuisine.
I had a really good time.

Helpful?
1 Thank evanwier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Elles also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing