We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality, French cuisine”
Review of Royal Madeleine

Royal Madeleine
Reserve with
Royal Madeleine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6,165 of 16,978 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great quality, French cuisine”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Tremendous French cooking - foie gras ravioli were surprisingly light, despite the cream based sauce. Onion Soup was served with the toasted gruyere covered slices of baguette to one side to although the diner to choose how they were eaten (dunked or just alone). My wife loved the beef tenderloin and my crispy pork belly was phenomenal. The service was as good as I've experienced since moving back to Europe last year, although it may have helped that we had a 9:30 reservation and they place was hardly packed...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joegold80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    14
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy and Sophisticated”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this gem of a restaurant while recently in Paris. Not only was the staff inviting and helpful, but the food was also superb. You can find traditional French favorites in the menu, but there are also some dishes with a more modern flair. The wine list is good and there are even many options by the glass. We will definitely go back again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyabogado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“nice brasserie”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I love staying in this area, so I thought I would give this brasserie a try. The restaurant was bare, but what can you expect, at least it was warm and had friendly staff. The menu was basic hearty fare. I had the beef cheeks, which was nice, good texture and nice flavours. The accompanying mash was excellent.
Tonight they had a special wine promotion and I was glad to see one of my favourites. Petit-Cadet was on special, at normally half the price!
Overal, a good night, food was OK, no fancy stuff but heartwarming. Worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thirawit l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Great Food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

When going to Paris, you want to eat great food. Of all the bistros and brasseries we ate at trying to find traditional french cuisine, we found it at Royal Madeline. Recommended by our concierge at The Westin, we were a little unsure because it's in such a touristy area but the food and wine was amazing.

I had the foie gras for a starter followed by the hen and my husband had the mushrooms to start and veal stew. Everything was great and the cheese plate was pretty fantastic as well. The staff was great and made wonderful recommendations. We will definitely go back next time we are in Paris!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An excellent place to eat!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent dinner with business associates! All the dishes we had (starters, main, desert) were tasty, cooked to our satisfaction. I had the house speciality (Royal Stew) for main and it was just perfect! The portions were generous. The wine list was complete! The staff was also very cordial and made us feel very welcome from the first moment. My guests were very pleased. Will visit it again next time I am in Paris! Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikos146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Madeleine also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Royal Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing