We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! We felt like a friend's restaurant. ”
Review of Au Petit Sud Ouest - CLOSED

Au Petit Sud Ouest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $67
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: Au Petit Sud Ouest is specialized on Duck and duck / goose liver (Foie gras). You have to like duck !! Open for lunch from 12 to 2:30 pm (last order at 2:30 pm) and dinner from 6 pm to 10 pm (last order at 10 pm). Better to make a booking. We are closed on Sunday and Monday and August. We have a shop too... Open from 9 am to midnight. Take away lots of differents "Foie gras" (duck or goose liver fresh or by tins)
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great! We felt like a friend's restaurant. ”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I went there because of tripadvisor reviews and I couldn't agree more with what I have readen.
Great food, great fun and hospitality and not too expensive, about 55? person, really worth it.

Helpful?
Thank FFAD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

1,814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,310
    387
    58
    42
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I been there for Valentines dinner with my boyfriend and everything was great!!! Service, staff very good and food AMAZING!!! We really loved!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nika100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very pleasant. Good value.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoyed dinner at this duck-focused restaurant. The ambiance was warm and comfortable. The staff worked very diligently to be welcoming, gracious, personable. The food was good. I would not rave about it, but after days of big Parisien meals, it was a welcomed break. And I thought the value was very good; the food was not fantastic but nor was the price; it was a equitable balance. Most of the guests seemed to be tourists, but on a night when you want something casual, welcoming, tasty and well priced, I would recommend Au Petit Sud Ouest.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Every single 5 star review on this restaurant is bang on the money, poor reviewers stating it just serves duck need to learn how to research restaurants properly! Needless slights on a brilliant restaurant.

We had an amazing meal here, the standard of the duck breast they serve is superb, the simplest meal of duck, potatoes and wild mushroom is pulled off so well, elevating this to a fantastic dining experience. The atmosphere is great, authentic and the staff make your meal superb.

Dinner was topped off with a pistachio creme brûlée that was perfect, and the Flocons D'ariege a handmade South-West France sweet that come with the bill. My fiance and i enjoyed it so much we hit the Saxe Breuteil market on the Saturday to go buy some Magretde canard!

Thanks for a great dinner, we'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benthompson0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Places like this make Paris . . . well, Paris!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Unquestionably, undoubtedly, and absolutely deservedly the most wonderful meal I can remember. My wife and I ate here on our honeymoon, and enjoyed every superb moment of the meal. The staff will welcome you as if you were an old friend coming into their home. The menu is very heavy on duck, but if a restaurant in Paris features one dish primarily, they will do it biblically well. I highly recommend the fois gras for an entree (what Americans call "appetizers", the rest of the civilized world calls "entrees"), and following up with a duck soup for a main course. Take a day to visit Les Invalides and Rue Cler, walk to this restaurant, eat and enjoy life, then walk to Tour Eiffel and the Trocadero. Paris at its absolute finest.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 06Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Petit Sud Ouest also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing