We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst waiter ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe du Pont-Neuf

Cafe du Pont-Neuf
Ranked #4,721 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Les Halles
Londra, Regno Unito
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The worst waiter ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The dinner at the Cafe du Pont-Neuf have been my worse in Paris last year.
I want to be clear and honest with the Café and if I would consider the place for the food only or the atmosphere I would give a rate of 3 but the service was bad enough to put me in the mood of considering this place as the worst I ever seen.
Very short story: I had dinner with my girlfriend who was undecided about the main course to order (salmon or hamburger)… she went for hamburger and after a quite inexplicable long time she received the salmon. We decide not to complain about because the waiter had some difficulties to speak English and we did not want to create a problem for something not really important: worst decision ever!
When after 10 minutes another customer received “our hamburger” and complained to the waiter whom understanding his mistake got angry with us, in the middle of the Café started SCREAMING to my girlfriend and me (something I did not understand).
I paid the bill just because I was on holiday and I did not want to waste time with this individual.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wsep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    91
    24
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I wish it were in my neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

There is something remarkably comfortable about this place, and the food is very good, while most reasonably priced. We've had lunch--three courses for about 12 euros, and stopped by later for a cup of tea, or a kir--sometimes made with peach liqueur rather than cassis. The food is Basically French, although I've seen burgers on the menu. The desserts are my downfall--they are delicious. I adore the bar, which has a shiny copper surface and a mural of the Pont Neuf. Nico, the owner speaks fine English, and knows the words to zillions of American songs. It is in a most convenient location between the Louvre and Notre Dame, and just steps from Les Halles. Free wifi is also available.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrookeA368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First night in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Friendly staff. Food good we had onion soup lots of it and my omelette complete must have been made with 6 eggs it was enormous.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value, good service, god beef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

cozy unrushed atmosphere, great steak and a creme brulee to die for.
Staff were attentive but not in your face.
Situated in a quite touristy part of Paris it still offers good value for money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank theclanof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Don't go here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had lunch here - just stumbled across it. A poor experience. The onion soup was if the chef poured hot water over a cheese sandwich. Selection of wine by the glass quite inadequate. Waiter was surly. To be avoided...

Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Pont-Neuf also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe du Pont-Neuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing