We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, not so sure about the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette
Ranked #369 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel its very nice, modern and eco-friendly. The complimentary breakfast its delicious amd very extensive.
We get the room that has a terrace, and I loved it. Its very spacious, and the terrace has 2 comfy chairs and a view of the Canal de la Villete!
The location its fine. Its a neighborhood that its becoming popular, and out of the always full "downtown" Paris.
The metro its about 5 blocks from the hotel, and the lines(Crimee/Laumiere) are a little far from the sightseeing, but perfect for the Gare du Nord.
Apart of this, I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. I loved it, and the staff were kind and easy-going.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is what you expect from a chain hotel by holiday inn ,so no surprises here.The room was decent and the breakfast was good. The location is not central but there is a metro station nearby .The canal was pretty nice also. But we do have some complaints. First we arrived at the hotel at 13.50 and the room was not ready yet!!! The receptiom lady was not polite and not apologetic at all about that.We finally got our room at 15.30. We didn't say anything due of politeness and because we felt that was not a major thing .But on the day of the check out we arrived at the hotel only 10 minutes after 12 and that seem to be a very big problem to them!!! We found the same reception lady knocking at our room door at 12.10 and said to us in a very rude way that we have to check out immediately!!! So they weren't too anxious to give us our room(90 min after they were supposed to) but they were very anxious to get rid off us only 10 minutes after the check out time...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank georgios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Pros:
- Modern, eco-friendly facilities
- Very conveniently located to metro station (Riquet, Crimee, Stalingrad)
- Breakfast is included, good selection
- Nice neighborhood (local groceries, cafes)
- English-speaking staff (for us non-French speaking folks)
- Excellent value for money (particularly if you book in advance)

Cons:
- Rooms tend be a little small (asI suppose most hotels in Paris are!)
- Wii is expensive
- No shuttle transportation (to say Gare Du Nord or Gare Du Est)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harry_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights and the hotel is quiet, clean and modern. Much better equipped and less basic than the Ibis Hotels that I stayed prior to this.
I stayed in a canal facing double room and it was clean, large and quiet. Breakfast was simple but perfectly adequate. Contrary to many reports of long queues, I always managed to secure a table during the peak time of 8 to 9am.
Metro station is 5 minutes away which was the reason I chose this hotel. It is on line 7 which runs straight to the Louvre and passes Gare De L'est. 10 to 20 minutes Metro ride to all Paris attractions.
Another plus is that there's a huge supermarket adjacent to the Metro stop and plenty of restaurants including a McD.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Great Holiday Inn Express Hotel; great price ninety pounds with buffet breakfast, situated by a very lively canal in a very lively french neighbourhood and near friendly bistros and restaurants, not to mention the proximity to the metro. Perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaGk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had 2 interconnecting family rooms and there was ample space for a family of 5 including 2 teens. The rooms were clean, staff very helpful (we needed a pharmacy during our stay and tips on best way to travel to Disney). Breakfast is included, and yes the breakfast room is small - but in our 5 days there the longest we had to wait for a table was 10 mins on Saturday morning (and you wait in the lounge area rather than in a queue).

The area is what you'd expect of the outskirts of a major city - a bit shabby and rough as you walk from the metro, but certainly nothing to worry about. The hotel itself is in a quite gentrified part of the district - lovely to walk along the canal in the evening. The OKAY cafe over the bridge is friendly and good value.

Arriving from Charles de Gaulle take the RER to Gard du Nord then take the Metro. We followed advice from other reviewers and headed for Riquet station on line 7, which means a change a Gare de l'Est. But to avoid having to change lines, its quicker (and easier with suitcases!) to take Line 5 instead to Laumiere station - its only 2 stops and no changes, and brings you out on the other side of the canal.

From Laumiere metro station it's 10 mins walk to the hotel - exit onto Av de Jean Jaures and turn left. At the traffic lights turn left (there's a sign to Canal de la Villete) and walk past the shops/supermarket and over the bridge - hotel is on your left.

The hotel is a good base for travelling into Paris - its worth buying a 'carnet' of 10 single metro tickets for 12.90 from a ticket machine in any station, instead of paying 5 euros each if buying individually. Use Riquet metro station for travelling into Paris from the hotel.

If you are seeking 5* luxury, then this isn't the hotel, or the district for you. But if you're after a good, clean, friendly 3*, and you're happy to use the metro, then I'd really recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yiannij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was staying there with my parents in a triple room. I personally quite like the design of the room and the facilities provided. The breakfast is excellent. This hotel is situated near the canal. The view from our room is awesome! We usually have a short walk after our meal. If you are coming from Charles De Gaulle airport, you can take the train to Gare Du Nord station, then from there take metro to Riquet station. The hotel is just 5 – 10 minutes walk from Riquet station.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrypippin1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Ibis Styles Paris Massena Olympiades
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Hotel de la Porte Doree
#248 of 1,809 in Paris
753 reviews
Hotel Comete Paris
#36 of 1,809 in Paris
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette

Address: 68 Quai De La Seine | 19 Arr., 75019 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#467 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $101 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tranquil waterside setting of the Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette hotel,just 10 minutes by metro from the heart of the city.A striking wood-clad eco-hotel, Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette is proud of its green credentials, solar roof panel & recycling programme. At 23 sq mt, the Guest rooms give you plenty of space to stretch out & relax.The hotel is 30 minutes by train from Charles de Gaulle Airport.And with Riquet metro station just 2 minutes away,it's easy to explore central Paris which is only a 10 minute metro ride from your peaceful waterfront base.Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette is next to Parc de la Villette,a futuristic activity park with gleaming metal sculptures in flower-filled gardens.Relax on the grass listening to live music,or keep the kids entertained with a visit to the Science Museum & screenings of 3D movies.Ask our friendly 24-hr Front Desk staff to suggest their favourite local attractions.Choose the largest of our 7 meeting rooms,with impressive views of the Canal, to host up to 150 delegates. All of our flexible meeting spaces are equipped with wireless Internet. Let us know if you'd like coffee breaks,printing or copying arranged.Unwind with a chilled glass of wine or champagne on the sunny terrace of Bar 68.Then head out for dinner in a typical Parisian brasserie.Our staff are happy to help with recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal De La Villette Hotel Paris
Holiday Inn Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing