We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service-too little staff for busy tourist area restaurant”
Review of Cafe Panis

Cafe Panis
Ranked #1,083 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: One of the prettiest views of Notre Dame, home of the Nutella tiramisu, Cafe Panis is a place open from 7AM to 1AM.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible service-too little staff for busy tourist area restaurant”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Firstly, there wasn't a lot of French cuisine on offer at Cafe Panis restaurant. They defiantly need to employ more staff on a Saturday. I asked for butter to go with my bread and dry omelette. I asked 3 different staff members and when I eventually got the butter, my omelette was ice cold.

I didn't leave a tip and will never waste money on going to that restaurant. They need to work on their menu and change their management. That is a tourist hot spot and with all the restaurant choices in the area, they should be on top of their game.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    327
    97
    43
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sat in corner overlooking Notre dame”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Fab place - great food, fab service, sat in alcove with best view of Notre dame here. You'd never find tourist service like this back in England!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juneyspoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location and scrummy food”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were recommended to go to Cafe Panis during our trip to Paris by a friend and we are really glad that we went. It is just across the bridge from the Notre Dam and half of the window tables have views of it. This place is like your typical french cafe/restaurant-lots of coffee, hearty dishes and wine!
We had beef bourguignon and pork normandy and both were lovely-the beef especially. They were both priced about 13 euros each. Then we had creme brulee and chocolat leigois-both great again.

Our waiter was friendly and, although the place was busy, the service was quick for Paris.
Not fancy fancy food or place-but they do what they do well and we will be recommending it to our friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice form a touristic spot”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This brasserie is in one of the most touristic spots of Paris and often very busy. Still it has preserved a really French atmosphere. We went there twice and on both occasions the service was really good and the food was good value for money.
There are several nice vegetarian options on the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vselleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you are tired a decent stop”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

After seeing notre dame we were tired and looking for a place to have dinner. After reading the reviews decided to have dinner there, however don't expect anything more than average. A plate costs from 13 to 20 euro, drinks expensive. The portions are big but variety minimum. The waiters are funny but got stressed when a big group of customers arrived, and pushed me and my sister to a small table at the back of the restaurant, overlooking the road and not notre Dame. Would recommend it for a coffee break and not for dinner and only if you get a seat with view to notre dame.

Helpful?
Thank e g
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Panis also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Panis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing