We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restaurant in Montmatre”
Review of Relais De La Butte

Relais De La Butte
Ranked #2,076 of 17,292 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Southport, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant in Montmatre”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A local recommended this restaurant for its good food and reasonable prices. They were right on both counts. And you can add friendly, efficient service to those descriptors. The outdoor terrace looks down over central Paris from its hillside position near to Sacre Coeur - but away from the main tourist area. It has an authentic 'montmatre' atmosphere.
We tried the gazpacho (excellent) and a cream sauce ravioli (very good). Our waiter was helpful and could supplement our basic French with good English.
Total cost, including 2 drinks was around 40 Euros - good value in Paris. We plan to eat there again before departing France.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    122
    40
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service Lovely Decor Great Staff”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I found this lovely Restaurant on a wet rainy day in Paris just last month. The food was excellent and as I am Vegan seeing Asperges on the Menu was inviting. The waiter was
so charming and helpful. I speak and understand French very wel. l He could not have
been more helpful. It was a perfect day to sit in a cosy place excellent food presented
beautifully service was superb. Was hard to leave and go back out in the rain to walk
back to the apartment. Should you walk past this gorgeous place stop and go eat you
will not be disappointed. I will definetly return on my trip to Paris.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maree Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

On our walk down from Sacre Ceur we stumbled upon this little cozy place on the corner at 12, rue de Ravignan. We chose the scallops, beef steak and cheese plate. Very, very good food and professionally laid out on the plates. We definitely recommend this place to food lovers. Not the cheapest, but price as expected on such a place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, amazing surroundings”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

After walking around all through Paris and around Montmatre area we where very delited to find this place. With a great view we sat down for a long lunch. The service was great! The waitor was very kind and helpful and from what we could see and hear all of the waitors were just as kind. The food was exelent! We had pasta and a chevre salad and some roséwine. We were very happy with everything and had trouble leaving as the whole enivroment was so calming that we could have stayed the whole evening!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lax1578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My fiancé and I stopped there while walking quietly in the surrounding.. We fall in love with that place.. Had some wine while watching sunset over Paris.. So romantic! Finally had nice salad magret de canard et fois gras... Avec le vin Chiroubles.. Delicieux!! Looking forward to go to Paris again.. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relais De La Butte also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Relais De La Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing