We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish French brasserie”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Coupole

La Coupole
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
La Coupole is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,597 of 16,839 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $33 - $63
Cuisines: French, European, Soups, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Description: A true Art Deco masterpiece, La Coupole is the most famous Parisian brasserie in the world. Today it is the quintessential symbol of Montparnasse's history, as well as a key component of the art of living and socialising in Paris, particularly in the 14th arrondissement.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stylish French brasserie”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

They have got good food, provide good service and it's possible to make a reservation on the internet.
A very French place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    1,281
    744
    352
    228
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Dinner and Profiteroles to die for”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been to La Coupole several times over the years, but this time, I had my teenage daughters in tow. We made reservations through Open Table online for a Sunday evening and that worked well. All of us found enticing choices on the menu and enjoyed our meal, but the profiteroles I had for dessert were DEE-LICOUS. The puff pastry was fresh and was not cold. The ice cream was not over frozen and the chocolate sauce . . . warm, semi-sweet and the perfect consistency. Yum!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Izzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Many more disappointments than highlights.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'll skip briefly past the icy cold attitude of the 'greeter' that put us all on edge from the moment we walked in the door and skip straight to the food which we were very much looking forward to.

Starters:
Lobster Bisque: Lovely - deep flavours and delicious.
Scallops: barely warm, two were gritty,
Smoked Salmon: good quality and portion.
Goats Cheese Pancake: Cold rubbery cheese in a chewy crepe with a very bitter endive salad.

Mains:
Salmon and potatoes: Overcooked (very overcooked) salmon with a small pile of mashed potato. pub food at best.
Chicken and vegetables: a bowl of overcooked chicken breast chunks with new potatoes and a few greens. Bland.
Steak Rossini with foie gras. The steak was superb, cooked rare to order (came blue but no problems there). One plate was ordered with fries instead of greens and came with a small plate of dry, inedible oven chips. The big issue was the foie gras. Both plates had warm to cold foie gras and the centre of one was still raw. We sent it back and five minutes later the replacement came blackened on one side and fridge cold and uncooked on the other. We complained again and declined the offer of a free dessert as we had to leave. When the bill came we were charged full price for that dish.

The atmosphere was fine - it's a colourful place and amusing to watch the poor turbaned Indian chaps with forced grins, hovering around the restaurant, who are wheeled out as a spectacle every time someone orders the curried lamb.

All in all it was an utter disappointment and for €230 for four, we expected something special. What we got was equatable to pub food. All the reviews saying this place is resting on its laurels are not going far enough; La Coupole is taking its clients for granted and we wouldn't go back if we were paid to do so.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You are paying for the decor.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I'm not going to say that the food isn't good but I have always felt that they content themselves with the strict minimum. There is an ambiance I grant you but it is also noisy so it's definitely not a place to relax or wind down. in. I you are out with a group of business men it's fine and is probably the most animated restaurant around Monparnasse but I still think it is expensive for what is on the plate. One of their specialities is lamb curry which I always found intriguing. Doubtless their kitchen is full of microwaves when you see the speed at which the dishes come out. The meat is vacuum packed but no better nor worse than most of the other restaurants on the same boulevard as they deal with the same suppliers. That being said its a nice global experience for someone who wants a Parisian souvenir.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Indiewheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Try it at least once...”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great art deco atmosphere and lively crowd. We visited on a Sunday - some restaurants are closed so this is a good option. Children's menu was a nice touch. Soups were lovely and the chateaubriand was really great! Mango soup was an interesting and tasty dessert.

Service was very attentive and friendly.

Visit the Tour Montparnasse for a great view of the city before or after. It is right around the corner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Coupole also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Coupole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing