We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much a do about nothing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of FULVIO

FULVIO
Ranked #5,211 of 16,854 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $144
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much a do about nothing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I will just copy a review made by someone who had been at Fulvio's before me and which I wish I had seen before deciding to book a table there. My experience was very similar to the one described below - in short: ridiculously high prices (around 25-27 euros and several pasta dishes at 32!) for pasta which was good, bit not amazing. Starters also at 25 euros - ok, they are big enough to share but you have no other option than to spend at least 25 euros for your starter. And a owner who is so full of himself it quickly becomes irritating, especially when he leaves you waiting for the menu for twenty minutes and then for the bill for another twenty minutes. Not quite the kind of service you would expect when paying such prices. Unimpressive wine list.

"This little place, situated just round the corner from my apartment, is well-known for three things. Firstly, its wonderful pasta dishes and quality of ingredients. Second, its incredible prices for the aforesaid pasta dishes. And lastly, for its mad owner.
The mad owner : frenetic, shock of hair like he'd been electrocuted in the morning, shouting at the top of his lungs, insists on reading the single chalked up menu in full to every table (shouting.) Just put the bloody thing up on the bloody wall. And pipe down. And take a deep breath. Trying to get anything from him - orders, bill, payment - is like trying to divert a charging rhinocerus.
The incredible prices : 30 euros plus for a single plate of pasta. Enough said.
The quality : OK, so the pasta is gorgeous. But at that price, this is not a surprise.
Oh, and the mad owner has crammed so many tables into the place, it's like being in the metro at 6pm."

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank winingdiningParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    41
    10
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
419 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Nice meal, animated owner, very pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Went with our teenage kids. Very welcoming and food was all good and served in generous portions. Owner is uber enthusiastic and puts on a good show...he left our table mid way through explaining the lengthy menu to go outside and yell at the garbage men! Not a great value, 250 euros for four entrees, two appetizers and a pricey, but average amarone. Wine list is terrible, very limited and very vague. Overall, was fun, and couldn't finish all the food. (Would have had a few lunches from all the leftovers if we weren't on vacation.)

Helpful?
Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Little Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and grandkids stumbled upon Fulvio one evening while returning home from an exhausting day touring Versailles. I’d stayed indoors with a touch of flu, but their enthusiasm for this little place was such that we all went back a few days later, wherein the animated owner greeted the four of us as if we were old family friends and had us relaxed with an apertif in no time.

Dining at Fulvio is an experience that is part culinary and part performance art, as the owner truly derives pleasure from every aspect of feeding people, from the elaborate descriptions of the menu printed on his chalkboard to his concerted effort to make sure that what’s available from the day’s market is prepared in the manner and with the ingredients best suited to your taste. If you prefer restaurants where you are ignored and the feeling is as if your presence there is keeping the staff from something more important then this is definitely not the place for you.

Our favorites: the delectable artichokes, the pastas cooked to al dente perfection: mushroom, calamari; and the clams and a rare fish for the winter season-the name of which escapes me but the memory of the delicate flavors remains strong.

An all-around warm and gratifying dining experience; we will definitely add Fulvio to our list of Paris favorites and make a return visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great choice for our last evening in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

It was our last evening in Paris and we were after a special dinner for just the two of us to remember the wonderful time we enjoyed in the City of Light. We bounced back and forth between the two possibilities but, being Paris, they weren’t in a hurry to open. Our ultimate choice was to go to Fulvio, in the Marais area where we were staying. At first we were concerned that there was no-one in the restaurant other than one staff member who was eating some pasta when we arrived. Our concerns steadily disappeared throughout the evening.

While we sipped on wine the owner arrived and promptly took charge of everything…including our table. He came to the table with a hand-printed chalkboard menu and reveled in detailing every available item. He would do the same with every guest as they arrived. The menu changes daily based on what he would find fresh at market that morning and we watched as he re-wrote the entire board. We made our choices based on his recommendations but I did argue with him over whether or not my pasta choice should come with crème. He won the argument and insisted it should not. He was right.

Both meals were incredible…loaded with fresh seafood and just perfect pasta and well presented on plates far too full for either of us to finish. Indeed the owner was quite put out that I had left almost half but I tried to re-assure him that it was me…and not the food. He continued to chide me, in a good humored way, for not finishing my dinner and indicated that I would not be needing sweets.

We choose this restaurant because it was close to our apartment. On a future trip, regardless of our location, we would search it out and return. The owner, originally from Sardinia, Italy, is a great host with a magnificent offering of menu choices all reasonably priced. Dinner, with wine for two, came in a 100 Euros. You can find Fulvio in the Marais area at 4, Rue de Poitou, 75003 Paris. Contact them at 01 42 71 62 80. If you come by the metro it would be line 8 with the stop of Saint Sebastien Froissart and you are but a couple of blocks away. Well recommended and the right place for our final Parisian meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent food, chef flamboyant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Strolling through le Marais on a saturday evening, we did not make a reservation for dinner, so we looked up the nearest restaurants on Yelp and found this little diamond.
Fulvio is a tiny but very cosy Sardinian restaurant. We were welcomed warmly by the Sardinian chef. As there was no menu (only the wine menu with some very good Italian wine), the chef made it his task to come to every table with a charkboard on which the dishes were written. He explained every course himself and made our mouth water!
The dishes itself were excellent! There were some vegetarian options also, which is rare in paris. We ordered the wine of the month, a very good chianti, recommended by the chef.
If I can think of one minus, it must be that the antipasti dishes were 'a partager' (to share), which explained the price (20euros for a burata), and the chef failed to mention it. But then again, we didn't ask it ourselves. So we ordered two dishes antipasti (each 20euros) and got HUGE portions :-) But we didn't complain because it was delicious! We also ordered 2 pasta dishes afterwards, normal sized (also a rarity in Paris). There was no room left for dessert :-)
I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kdelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FULVIO also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to FULVIO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing