We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like stepping back in time”
Review of Restaurant Polidor

Restaurant Polidor
Ranked #1,251 of 16,978 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: This restaurant has been around for over 100 years and was featured in a scene from Woody Allen's film "Midnight in Paris"
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I eat here every trip to Paris. Often you sit with people you don't know. Bench seating. All the food is classic and well prepared. I had the skate wing it was awesome. Drink the house wine. This is what abParis restaurant is to me.

Helpful?
Thank Bobpierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    548
    184
    108
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and attitude”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

It must be difficult when you have been open since 1864 to focus on the present, not slip into the past. Our simple and satisfying €22 set menu demonstrated that, despite the passage of time, the Polidor has not lost it's way. The food here is simple but very, very good. the Boeuf Bourgignon is really superb and the pork also. Try the homemade caramel ice cream - a rich and bitter sweet experience that will really teach you something. The wines are damn fine and reasonably priced. The atmosphere is informal but it is still a classy joint. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling-wilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWARK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Simply good, simply charming.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We wandered into Restaurant Polidor on our first night in Paris. The endorsements posted in the front window helped give us the confidence to try it out. It's a tiny place with cramped tables which are often connected, so most likely you'll be eating next to strangers, which didn't matter to us. Menus were quickly offered and our waitress, a seasoned veteran, kept tapping me on the elbow to let me know she hadn't forgotten about me and would return for my order. It was busy, and I didn't see other waitresses, perhaps she was working alone. There were several dining options, some handwritten on a big wall mirror, including a 3 course prix fix meal for 22 Euros. We opted for that and I ordered a salad Caprese, Pork with curry sauce and mashed potatoes and a currant mouse with berry glaze. My husband ordered the Beef Bourguignon with mashed potatoes and the same salad Caprese. He opted for a apple pie for dessert. The salad came with a pesto sauce drizzled over it instead of whole basic leaves, and the mozzarella and tomatoes were dressed in olive oil, no balsamic vinegar, which is how we do it at home. It was very tasty. The main courses were delicious. The pork was large chunks, swimming in a mildly spiced curry gravy, with some carrots added for color. Tasted more like fresh pork and not at all like a pork chop. It was very "melt in your mouth". My husbands beef was similar, large chunks floating in gravy with a very creamy side of mashed potatoes. Everything was super soft, no chewing needed. House wine was available in generously sized carafes for reasonable prices. My husband knocked mine over when reaching for the salt, and made a mess of our table. The waitress noticed and came to our rescue with lots of napkins to clean up, fresh place mats (paper, no white linens here!) and another beaker of wine on the house. Overall our meal was very satisfying, good food, good service and very reasonable prices. Ambience is busy, crowded and a bit noisy. Not a quiet romantic place, but a bustling place with good food. No pretenses here, it's not the kind of ambience some restaurants are aiming for, where the cool set wishes to be admired. It knows what it is, a good restaurant with good food, designed to satisfy hungry diners. I'll be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Muralmakerinnewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Locals Favorite”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We just stumbled on this restaurant, without reading any Trip Advisor reviews. We were attracted to go in and take a table because it seemed packed with locals and a quit Monday evening.

Our meal was very good and the atmosphere was fun. Tightly packed tables filled with local French diners. It felt like we were the only ones not speaking French.

Try this restaurant for an authentic French dining experience, it is not there to cater to tourists. You can tell that because of the bathroom, just avoid that and enjoy the atmosphere and good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berniepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very bad service”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Went to the restaurant based on recommendations but were a little disappointed. The atmosphere was wonderful but our waitress was very rude. We were hurried through our meal we never got any water and after asking the third time she all but shouted at us. The food was good, not great but a friendly waitress would have ensured a better night.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paxpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Polidor also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Restaurant Polidor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing