We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with excellent karma :)”

Les sommets de l'himalaya
Ranked #10,680 of 17,300 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Les Halles
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food with excellent karma :)”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A three of us enjoyed an excellent lunch here. We ordered three different 3-course menus (cca 13 EUR/menu) and everything was lovely. For appetizers we had pakora we could dip in 4 different sauces, for main course we had two pieces of naan with various "curry" sauces. We also got a dessert - the halva was perfect :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zmaja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    32
    8
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“If you can get them to feed you...”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We ate there one time at lunch, and found the food to be steam table quality, vegetables mushy, and curries tasting much alike. The service was crazy slow, especially as there were only two tables being served.

Another time, in desperation for an early dinner, we decided to give them a second chance (we hadn't discovered Akash yet), and we got there at 5 pm, which we realize was early for a French restaurant. Restaurant was open, tables were set up, but we were waved away and told to come back at 6. When we came back at 6, we were told they weren't ready for customers yet. Sigh.

Both times we were there, we felt that whatever was going on in the kitchen (was there actually a chef? were we inconveniencing them? were we eating food made that day?) was not good. There was a waiter, basically, and so signs of other personnel.

It remained in my mind that it's possible that for lunch they use leftovers from the day before and heat them up, avoiding the need for a chef at that time, and that maybe, unless there are more customers, they don't call the chef to come in, in the evening. Even so, they could have seated us and we'd have had a glass of wine while they got more ready for dinner (surely by 6:30, they would have been able to offer some sort of appetizer? We were not in a hurry and we would have been happy just to sit down, have a water and a wine and wait a bit).

It's on a busy little alley with souvenir shops, which doesn't bother me at all, and the prices are very low. However, the one time we did eat there, many of the menu items were unavailable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LeBiscuit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talca, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very friendly and fantastic food”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

On a recent Saturday evening, I walked into this restaurant with my wife and two small kids. I expected to be turned away, as the restaurant was almost full, but the owner gave us a quiet table and then proceded to recommend a specific dish for our kids that wouln't be too spicy. All the food we ordered was very good, the staff were extremely friendly, and the prices more than reasonable. In summary, this is an excellent option if you need to get away from moody French waiters!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonsieurLeNez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent venue”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food for a rather interesting price! Nice staff as well. Been there many times.
I took the 23 euro meal and we got a starte with a cheese naan, a curry for main course with rice and a dessert or a coffee.we were full when we depart.

Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ornex, France
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I ate there with a friend, the prices are really low and the food is pretty good. I would definately go back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les sommets de l'himalaya also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les sommets de l'himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing