We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pizza's, excellent service”
Review of Babalou

Babalou
Reserve with
Babalou is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #150 of 16,978 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Montmartre
1 review
“Excellent pizza's, excellent service”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The restaurant is quite hard to find, it's up a lot if steps but it is well worth the effort, the food is beautiful and reasonable for Paris, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return again and recommend to others.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BecsBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    262
    31
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Very close to Sacre-Coeur but away from the crowds. We had lunch here. Very friendly waitress who spoke great English. Both had excellent pizzas. Price reasonable and my wife had a nice glass of wine. Would go back.

Helpful?
Thank Sonof G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yes, enthusiastism well deserved!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were well primed to enjoy Barabou, yet it still held good surprises. From outside, it looks so ordinary, so much like any other café you would walk by in Paris, and “pizzeria” on the awning isn’t usually much a recommendation in the US. We expected simple food, with limited choices. But the varieties—of anti-pastas, of pizza, even of ravioli—provided more than enough choice. And every choice the three of us made was superb. Our anti-pasta—the cheeses, hams, grissini—was outstanding, especially the cheeses. Easily the best preparation of risotto I’ve ever had. My mushroom ravioli could only be described as sumptuous, stuffed full with mushrooms, and bathed in a superb mushroom puree sauce. One friend had a prosciutto & ham pizza on a bed of green! Such a surprise, a subtle taste and visually striking. Another had a cheese and pine nut pizza graced by a central mound of the mouth-watering risotto. Our service person, Mariel, hailing from Argentina, was genuinely friendly and warm, gave excellent advice on choices we selected. And the price! For 3 people, 3 courses, 4 glasses of house wine, total price = €72.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An excellent italian bistro”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited this on spec having read the tripadvisor reviews and were lucky to get a table. Quite a few of the customers were obviously locals which was encouraging. The entree and pizzas were excellent and were very good value for this location. Italian wines were also reasonably priced - the Bardolino was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little pizza place”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was a nice little pizza place in Montmartre. I would recommend going here if in the area. Very small dining area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kali445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babalou also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Babalou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing