We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe for locale”
Review of Cafe de la Place

Cafe de la Place
Ranked #13,589 of 17,424 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cafe for locale”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Food was typical cafe food, nothing special. The location is very good, right at square near metro station, market, with low auto traffic - which may explain the above average price. We found the service to be excellent. A poor village bottle of wine was served, we returned it and asked for the correct bottle. It was not available, but an upgrade to 1st Cru was provided, no issues, no increased cost. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    38
    21
    14
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cafe with outdoor seating and underhand pricing”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a reasonable meal here watching the world go by, soaking in Paris on our first night. The food and drink were OK, but not great, and the service friendly, but limited. While the meals were fairly expensive, it was the €16 beers that were the real shock. That the waiter went on to calculate an exact 15% tip for himself after, including drinks, was more shocking. Avoid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ok for the view.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This cafe is on the market square in Montparnasse, and as such it's a nice place to sit and watch the world go by. However, at £50 for 2 lunches and half a bottle of wine, it felt like a bit of a rip off. They were not elaborate lunches, a Croque Monsieur and a plate of pate and ham. The waiter was on the 'hurry up' and clearly wanted us to move on as quickly as possible. I would go back for a coffee, but I would not eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank QueenVicFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
“BAD FOOD QUALITY”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I ordered medium baked steak but I get totally raw and cold meat inside and burned from outside.
Food quality is very bad!Price is too high and service is bad!I DO NOT recommend it!
There are lot of better places to eat in this area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tkosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Adequate and overpriced food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I live in the area and walk past this café every day, so when my brother was in town we went to try it. The food is ok but super expensive. Nice enough for a coffee in the sunshine, but I wouldn't eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de la Place also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe de la Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing