We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh, what a setting!”
Review of Le Mini Palais

Le Mini Palais
Ranked #1,052 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $36 - $154
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“oh, what a setting!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Located in the Grand Palais, the terrace Minipalais is a wonderful place to have lunch after having seen an exhibit at either the Grand Palais or the Petit Palais across the street. it is an enchanting place at night. the terrace is covered and heated. through the greek columns supporting the roof, you can see the newly restored Petit Palais across the street. the menu is simple but good: steak tartare, risotto, pasta with chorizo were all good. for the decor the price of the course were reasonable ($17-22 at night).

the inside restaurant is modern, pleasant but a little cold in atmosphere. i would advise to stay on the terrace.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauremm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    536
    228
    123
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish and unexpected”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Difficult to see from the outside. This is actually inside the Grand Palais. The menu is unusual and eclectic. Everything that we had was perfectly executed and the service was super efficient and friendly. Awesome gougere to start with instead of bread! The dessert of "chocolate cake" was an elaborate delight.

Not cheap (well think of where you are sitting here) but highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HJCant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Begude-de-Mazenc, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great experience and not at all touristy”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

After seeing an exhibition on Augustus in the Grand Palais we lunched here in wonderful surroundings with people of all ages from 2 to very old-all enjoying the experience. The restaurant is a bit difficult to find at the river corner of the Grand Palais. The food came promptly- my husband had duck and I had merlan (fish) both beautifully presented and delicious.
it was relaxed but the service was both friendly and efficient. It was not the first time we had been and it will not be the last.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gastronomy”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Owned by 3 Michelin star Chef Eric Frechon, and located at the Champs Elysées and Churchill Boulevard, in the Grand Palais, I've had the opportunity to visit there and took it without hesitation. While visiting in Paris with my wife, as she used to be a local, we met with a couple friends of ours, both, foodies like us who reserved seats for us all at Mini Palais. I was really impressed with the restaurants location and design. I really liked the huge, big, tall windows that had light coming in and the terrace which was beautiful. I began by having the classic fois gras which was incredible. We then all moved to the main courses which included pork(belly) with mustard mushroom risotto in beet ravioli and sauce, duck fillet and mash, and chicken fillet with mash. We ordered a nice bottle of henri bourgeois la cote mont dame sancerre(white)which was very good and finished lunch with crazy pot(aux fruits rouges) for 4 and coffees. Exceptional lunch for all us, we were very satisfied when leaving. The service was excellent, from the waiters to the hostess. The price was expensive, as to be expected. I saw some families around, so I'm assuming the families friendly. I don't think there's parking in area, so i would suggest to take the metro or a cab if possible(there's a metro station right at the grand palais). Reservation is also recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cybrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location, simply gorgeous.
Great home cocktails.
Exceptionnal "Gougère au fromage".
Very friendly service.
Very good food.
Must drink the "homemade" Saint-Emilion Chateau Louis "Réserve".
All at reasonnable prices.
MUST GO!

Helpful?
Thank Baud53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mini Palais also viewed

 

Been to Le Mini Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing