We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pretty bad meal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Sancerre

Le Sancerre
Ranked #3,547 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: French, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Description: Situe en plein coeur du marais le sancerre vous fait profiter e son ambiance heteroclite et chaleureuse autour d'une bonne cuisine traditionnelle et faite maison. La petite terrasse fort agreable vous promet des moments de detente et de partage sympathique. petits dejeuners, dejeuner, diners, banquet et happy hour, il y en a pour tout le monde et pour tous les gouts
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A pretty bad meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We've been here a couple of times, but this latest visit will be the last:
- very slow service
- no bread brought to our table (some received it, others didn't)
- a miserable 3 scallops on the main plat du jour
- tiny wizened piece of beef, really hard
- thin wine, barely drinkable.

We could see other were having problems too. A shame, but there it is. Plenty of better places to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TieOnTheFeedbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    83
    30
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relaxed , convivial eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I liked this place , the service was welcoming and efficient and the food pretty good. The atmosphere is friendly and the lunchtime specials were varied. Good position for people watching from the corner terrace on a sunny day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Very good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Chats2092 provides a perfect description. The food is good, but the atmosphere is great. This is as close as you'll get to a local dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amw1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We came to see the Sacre Couer back in 2010 but didn't walk around the neighborhood at all. So naturally, we ventured back to the area because I remembered it seemed interested and of course, we were hungry, so as we wandered around, we found ourselves here. We decided to eat inside near the window so we could watch people. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My limited French worked out very well. We always end up laughing because I might say something wrong. The menu is easy to read if you understand what the French words for chicken, beef, or fish are.

We ordered a bottle of wine, which was very good. I can't stop saying how great the wines are in France compared to the U.S. I ordered one of their salads cause it was later in the day and I didn't want to fill up before dinner. The partner ordered the steak special and though it was tender, it could've been a little bigger considering the amount of potatoes that were on the plate. The ambiance is great! The view was fun! The only thing that bothered me was the smoking from the sidewalk tables, but we're in France and it's what they do. We're not in the U.S., so when in Rome....er...Paris....respect the culture and people and "Viva La France!"

This is a great place to sit, converse, and eat. We were the only tourists, so I think it's more of a local hangout. I would definitely come back if I was in the area, perhaps for wine and a cheese board.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heuster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“More English could be useful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I know we are in Paris, however I do feel, as a tourist, that perhaps the menu could have an English translation. (a lot of non french speakers visit this area) Our food was excellent and well priced, but on the translation side my wife's, "fish of the day", turned out to be a quiche with some flaked salmon. She was not amused, but the quiche was delicious!
The wine selection was very good and the service warm and welcoming. All in all a good experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris_Curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sancerre also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Sancerre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing