We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excekkent for those who would like to feel they are in a small old French bistro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Poulbot

Le Poulbot
Ranked #3,992 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $29 - $37
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excekkent for those who would like to feel they are in a small old French bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Visited montmarte. Very good views over Paris and lots of places to eat-drink nearby. Most were of the boring Parisian lettuce or frittes on the plate cafe fare but a gorgeous little old place named Le Poulbot drew our gaze and we were rewarded with a great lunch of standard but tasty traditional French fare in surroundings that weren't like every other outdoor cafe in the world. Food was competent rather than extraordinary but very reasonably priced and the experience of being in a cosy old world Bistro I could not see being offered anywhere else on Montmarte.
Cons: NO outdoor dining

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    161
    52
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem in touristy Montmartre!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We just chanced upon the amazing place during a recent trip to Paris. My sister and myself were trying hard to find somewhere away from the touristy crap in the area.

When we found it, we were too early but yet a young man opened the door for us, sat us down and gave us menus and told us there weren't serving yet. I am so glad we went here! I have never had such amazing onion soup like this place, it was just perfect! I had duck, and the cheese plate, with a lovely glass of wine; a perfect meal! Simple and delicious!

We both loved our meals, the service, and the small and quaint seating, we hate big restaurants that look like food factories. We always seem to find nice places to eat in Paris, and have very few bad experiences in this lovely city.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very little to improve on, reccomended very highly!

It evoked a cosy intimacy which lent itself to the eating of comfort food with friends on a rainy day in Paris

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent - takes you back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Among the touristy surroundings of Montmartre it was really a great relief to find this little old gem. The service was extraordinary & friendly - the best we experienced in our 8 days in Paris. The food was well above average & setting out of an old fairly tale book. Go there for the atmosphere. Get in early so that you can enjoy the quiet before it fills up. Ask the friendly owner to suggest the wine. He got it right all the three times we visited the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingStar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon Queensland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Classic French food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stumbled across this restaurant on our last day in Montmartre and booked a table for dinner. Luckily, as it filled quickly and people waited outside in the rain for a table. Wonderful food - the French classics, at a very reasonable price. Eat of the fixed menu or order a la carte. Great service from friendly waiter. Cosy and with great atmosphere appropriate to Montmartre's bohemian style.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Poulbot also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Poulbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing