We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Amazing - Couldn't have chosen better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Petit Tonneau

Au Petit Tonneau
Reserve with
Au Petit Tonneau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,090 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $826
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: "Au Petit Tonneau" Every day, French cuisine lovers rush to this lovely and welcoming spot located in the heart of Paris' 7th arrondissement, in the famous Surcouf Street. They come here, only a few steps away from the Invalides and the Eiffel Tower, to enjoy authentic, generous and traditional meals. Au Petit Tonneau is an authentic Parisian bistro that has existed over thirty years ago, offering a friendly atmosphere, accentuated by vichy tablecloths and ancient tiles embellished with fleur-de-lis, where one word prevails: "enjoy" ! It is also in this restaurant where Comissaire Maigret, under the pen name of Georges Simenon, habitually took a few puffs from his pipe as he was seated at his "table of the commisaire" to relish in his favorite dish: a veal stew, which to this day is still highly anticipated by customers. "menu" The cuisine of Au Petit Tonneau revisits the traditional and savory entrees that build onto the international reputation of the French gastronomy. Gourmet meals altering with the changing seasons can also boast to a great pricing for its quality, such as the veal with gravy accompanied by a simmering gratin dauphinois (cooked in cream), barely out of the oven.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Amazing - Couldn't have chosen better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and two children (7 and 3) just had the most enjoyable early New Years Eve dinner here. Arlette and all her staff went out of there way to ensure that both the adults and children had a wonderful time. Arlette - many many thanks for fitting us in, we really loved the food, service, wine and atmosphere. We certainly enjoyed all the courses but the Capon with Truffles was amazing. My husband was super impressed with the wine matching too. Next time I'll be able to try them as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EEJ888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    49
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Exceptional Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We ate here on Thursday, November 28, Thanksgiving Day. Our party included 4 adults and 3 children under the age of 2. We had our meal when the restaurant opened for dinner at 7pm, we had arrived early because we had a train back to London and ths staff was very accomodating to seat us before they opened, and was helpful with the small children we had.

The food was outstanding. One of their set menus was a French take on Thanksgiving Dinner, while I was initialy skeptical, it was hands down the most amazing Thanksgiving Dinner I'd ever tasted (don't tell my mother). The sweet potato side dish was probably the best side dish I'd ever tasted.

While the restaurant was everything you could want in a French dining experience, there was no pretnention and no negative responses towards two American families, who spoke very little French and had young children. We could not have expected a better experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelKenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch here just last Friday. In our party of four, two chose the daily lunch menu and it was an excellent deal at 22 Euros. On that day, we had a salad with a warm goat cheese crouton, followed by succulent duck and potatoes and the lemon tart for dessert was very tasty. The other two in our group, being vegetarians, were very pleased with their choices. The waitstaff was very helpful, very nice and the atmosphere of the entire meal was lovely. I will be back in Paris in less than a month and I will definitely take my family there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
“Best meal experience in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The staff were amazingly accommodating to us and our 2 year old. They were generally happy to host us even with a toddler. The food was excellent and fresh. Definitely the most enjoyable meal yet. We will return on our next trip to Paris

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KaprielianRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

On the recommenation of the concierge from our hotel we booked this restaurant. This was the best meal we had while in Paris. The owner of the restaurant greeted us as soon as we walked in and she made us feel welcome and like family. She went over the menu with us and made sure we understood everything that was on it. The gentleman in charge of the wine was also excellent and made several suggestions for us and we were able to make a great wine selection. This is a small restuarant with red and white checkered table cloths, not many tables and just a cozy feeling. Our meal was so good we insisted that the chef come out so we could thank her personally for preparing such a great meal. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. It was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnathan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Petit Tonneau also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Petit Tonneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing