We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres bien!”
Review of Marguerite - CLOSED

Marguerite
Price range: $22 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Saturday night dinner - so glad I booked earlier in the week as people were being turned away before 9pm without reservations. Was really looking forward to the frogs legs started and steak tartare main course... and I was not disappointed in the slightest.

Frogs legs were delicious and just the right portion size, and the steak tartare was prepared at the table. Once again, absolutely delicious.

Polished the evening off with a cafe gourmond - a top assortment of delectables was served to complement the coffee.

The price for the two of us (other half had snails and steak - both received top marks) taking into consideration the quality of the food and the fact this was Paris, was very reasonable indeed.

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jh196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sducreux, Gérant at Marguerite, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Your comment honors our restaurant and we are very happy to discover it. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 618 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a very good meal in Marguerite, I started with langoustines and vegetables, then we took the 1kg steak. It was real good meat, soft, even the fat melted away and tasted really good!
We did ask to take a little time between the courses, because we saw other tables finishing quite quick.Also the wine and champagne were of a good quality. top restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 12eline12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

On our last night in Paris we tried 'Marguerite' after reading reviews on TA and discovering its close location to our hotel. Beautiful food. We had 3 courses- French onion soup, beef for 2 and the tarte tantin & crepe suzette for desert. The beef was outstanding, 1kg for 2 ppl was more than enough- came with potatoes, salad and sauces. Cooked to perfection and after being in Europe for 3 weeks we will definitely remember this meal. As their restaurant logo and pictures inside are of cows and beef, we took the hint and ordered beef... As I think everyone should! The bill came out at 89€, three courses as delicious as they were for 2 people was great value . Definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank margotjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sducreux, Gérant at Marguerite, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

We always try to provide our best in our restaurant and the best reward for us is to read such a comment. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Marguerite is a nice small place with only about 10 tables. Make sure you make a reservation. Our first visit we didn't have one but got lucky to get a table, the second time we made sure to e-mail and request a reservation. Good steak, and great chocolate lava cake what more could you ask for? Staff is helpful, no problems trying to communicate. It has the small restaurant feel not like a busy chain. The prices are more than reasonable for what you get.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sducreux, Gérant at Marguerite, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is very pleasant to read such nice things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I can’t believe the reviews about this restaurant. This was the worst meal I’ve had in Paris in years! Where do I start?

Reservations Required: I had made reservations and sent a confirmation to which they politely responded. We arrived within 5 minutes of our time and were promptly seated. More than half of the tables were empty and had “reserved” signs on them. We were there about 90 minutes and most of these tables remained empty yet they were constantly turning people away. Two ladies arrived and were a half hour late for their reservation, and they almost turned them away but told them they needed the table by a certain time so they were seated. That time came and went, and this was still a restaurant half full of empty tables with “reserved” signs on them!!!

Location and Neighborhood: If you need to get your hair braided, there are dozens of Senegalese hair salons between the Metro and the restaurant, irregardless of which of the two ways you decide to get there since you have to walk one street over and then to the middle of the block. I didn’t feel unsafe as some would, which may be why there were so many empty “reserved” tables, but it was very ethnic. This would not deter my returning if the restaurant deserved a second visit.

Food: We each ordered appetizers (entrées in French): 1) Cassolette Escargots for 12€ and 2) Soupe a l’Oignon for 8€. The escargot dish was snails in a white cream sauce with mushrooms and possibly white wine, but the main ingredient was SALT, enough to send someone into cardiac arrest! The onion soup was below average for Paris and also was very salty. It was also very white to clear and looked like chicken broth wheras onion soup is normally made with a beef broth? Having eaten onion soup 3 times on this trip, this tasted the most canned and least authentic. For our entrée (plat in French), we chose the 1 kg (2.2 lbs) Cote de Boeuf for 2. A picture will be posted later, but this was one of the worst cuts of beef I’ve ever had-perhaps we got the scraps! We showed a picture to the guest relations person at our hotel, and he said, apologetically, that it looked like dog food. It was very fatty and had a huge bone so it really was only about 40% edible, weight-wise. We had to cook it ourselves for the most part on a hot stone that was provided and didn’t stay hot too long. A skillet of fries was included as well as 2 side salads. There were 3 sauces. The one with a cheesy flavor was tolerable but again probably very salty. We skipped dessert and quickly headed back to our hotel in time for champagne and dessert at the club lounge before it closed for the evening.

Wine: We had a bottle of Julienas red wine for 26€, and it was average quality and price so no complaints there. We also had a carafe of tap water and received frequent refills.

To sum up, I would not return here. Perhaps, some of their beef dishes are good, but not the kg slab. Both appetizers and the sauces were very salty. The location is questionable, but I did not feel threatened or in any danger. Whoever handles the reservations needs to take a course because they are missing out on lots of business due to so many no shows??? All in all, 102€ that could have been better spent elsewhere!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sducreux, Gérant at Marguerite, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We could not imagine that a meal in our restaurant would be such a bad experience. We are sorry to read it. We always ask our clients during the meal if everything is ok in order to be able to send back to the kitchen what is not appropriate. It is a shame that you did not report your comment when you were in the restaurant. Concerning the management of reservations, we receive many requests on week-ends. A reservation is guarantee if the client is on time. It is difficult for a small restaurant to manage when the client is late. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marguerite also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing