We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great food, fun atmosphere”
Review of L'Ecurie - CLOSED

L'Ecurie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Quartier Latin
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great value, great food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We came here on a recommendation and were very glad we booked a table! The place is tiny - I only saw the upstairs, but there was room for maybe 15 people in total? It's not the easiest place in the world to find, so make sure you look up how to get here before you come - but once you arrive, you're in for a treat!
We (family of 4, all adult) gratefully piled into the toasty warm restaurant after a bit of aimless wandering in the cold & snow, took our seats and were immediately presented with a free glass of sangria as an aperitif. Then we took a look at the menu, all deciding to go with the fixed price menu (3 courses) for EUR 18. There was a selection of about 5 starters, including a rustic pâté and several salads. The main courses were all variations on steak-frites - different cuts of meat. We put in our orders with the friendly waiter (French-speaking only) and sat back to watch the chefs in the open kitchen at work - the way they were throwing huge cuts of steak on the open grill, we knew we were in for a treat!
And it did not disappoint - we were all happy with our steaks, the fries were perfect, thin-cut frites and the pepper sauce we ordered with it was creamy with just a touch of burn in the back of your throat. We washed it down with the house wine, red and white, which were both fine. Desserts were OK, nothing special, but we were also offered a complimentary digestif - I think it was a brandy of some sort?
Not the kind of place you go if you want to be seated far away from other diners - the couple at the table next to ours were virtually in our laps, but luckily they were friendly and chatty! The place filled up really quickly as people settled in for the night in the cosy room. Such a treat to find an authentic kind of place like this in Paris for such a great price!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sorcha_niri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    101
    28
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An Experience”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went here on other recommendations from Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. You enter upstairs into a tiny bar, with a few tables in another room. We were shown downstairs and suddenly you are in this most fantastic underground room - cave. We had the set menu and for this area of Paris, it was excellent value. Very simple, but hugely tasty. I had the tomato salad and my husband had the pate. It came with the most wonderful just cut loaf of fabulous artisan bread and a very garlicky mayonnaise for sharing. We had a pitcher of red wine to accompany this - what is not to like! I then had the entrecote and my husband had the lamb. Both pieces of meat were perfectly cooked and delicious-served with the most wonderful frites. No sweet for me, but my husband had the creme caramel, which was fabulous. They are used to tourists and treat you very reverentially. Go and enjoy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional value for money in central Paris.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant whilst on holiday in Paris, with friends of ours who live in the Latin Quarter. Everything about the experience was fabulous, good,wine, value for money and ambiance. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff made you feel like part f the family, a truly enjoyable meal in a fantastic authentic atmosphere. A place that I will frequent on my future trips to the city of light.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catielettuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tiny place with plenty of charm”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good value and kind of feels like you're eating in the back of someone's house but thats what the charm is all about. Food is good without being spectacular but the staff are so friendly and the prices are so reasonable that you forgive them any failings. Surrounded by plenty of other restaurants so you have plenty options nearby if its not for you. Recommend a drink the Bombardier pub around the corner afterwards!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irishcouple2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit of old Paris charm”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We happened upon this tiny little gem of a restaurant quite by accident. Just off the Pantheon square in the Latin Quarter, l'Ecurie is a treat not to be missed while in Paris!
The inside is cramped, old and chock full of character! You can see the chef expertly cooking cuts of top grade meat on open fire while patrons happily chomp down on their dinners and try and make themselves heard over the general laughter and clatter of a busy little resto! Very charming! We actually sat outside at one of the miniature little tables against the stone wall. It was a very pleasant summer evening and the setting was perfect to get into the mood ...
We ordered steaks. Now, while I am not a big steak eater - not so much because I don't like them but because it is so "rare" to get a really well made one - I have to say that the steaks at l"Ecurie were outstanding! Melt in your mouth and cooked to perfection! Make sure you order rare to medium - any more would be an insult! :) Topped off with a jug of vin rouge ... ahhh, what a perfect way to end a day of sight seeing in one of the most magical cities in the World! Bon appetit mes amis!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ati900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ecurie also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing