We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Un Zebre a Montmartre
Ranked #1,484 of 17,407 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $44
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The reataurant had very good reviews on TA so we decided to visit.

They asked if we would like a menu in English which was very helpful, but on reflection I think, but cant be sure, that the English menu had different food on it than the French menu.

Anyway I had the veal, which was quite tasty and covered in a very nice sauce, it came with beans, and potatoes, the potatoes were lovely they were presented like a big fish cake, thick and round, and had some nice flavours mixed in.

The restaurant is no Gordon Ramsey but neither are the prices, presentation was obviously below taste as the taste was really good where as the presentation was average. However in saying that I would prefer the food to taste good rather than just look good, and that was the case here.

Would go back again for a quick value for money meal. But once again there are so many good restaurants in Paris it is hard to not keep trying new ones.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    292
    80
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Zebra of a Different Stripe”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We read some reviews here prior to our visit to Paris in Dec/Jan. Un Zebre a Montmartre lived up to all the good reviews and then some. The staff were casual, cool, but very helpful. They have chalkboards prepared in English of their menu written on the walls in French. There was a good mix of tourists, locals, and regulars here. The menu du jour for lunch was a good deal, for 13 euros, an appetizer and an main course (or dessert instead of app. if you wanted). Wines by the glass for less than 4 euros. We had the croque monsieur, duck liver pate, and a beef dish. All were very large portions. The beef was fall off the bone, almost like a stew. They even brought more bread for the pate, no extra charge. And tap water is available in a carafe, no guilting you into ordering bottled water. We went for lunch and the vibe was nice with some jazz music streaming, but we can imagine this place is very popular in the evenings as a cocktail destination for groups of friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceptive”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Zebre is not much to look at but the service and food are great. Very good value for money. We've been twice now and would certainly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelmsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yumm”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed out lunch here! The croque madame was perfect: on a thin slice of bread with a soft egg and plenty of cheese. My husband enjoyed his steak and our son was happy wirrh the cheesburger. The portions are big so we could have split if were werent as hungry. Staff was warm and friendly and had menus in both french and english. A nice spot when visiting montemarte.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of my favorite place in Montmartre!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is one of my favorite place in rue des Abbesses and Montmartre!
The staff is young and nice, food is good and not very expensive.
It is recommanded to go early if you want to have a table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Un Zebre a Montmartre also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Un Zebre a Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing