We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily overlooked but a "must visit"”

Un Zebre a Montmartre
Ranked #1,484 of 17,407 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $44
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easily overlooked but a "must visit"”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I originally found this after I googled "best value bistros in Paris"

Our first evening meal in Paris was at Brasserie Flo, a very famous 100 year old establishment famed for its ambience and french cuisine. Very nice and very expensive. Our second 2 evening meals were spent at 'Un zebre' and the combined cost was less than our first night. You'll almost certainly wait for a table but it is definitely worth it with the added benefit of an extra pre meal drink or two.

Fantastic tranditional French food in a cool atmosphere with excellent bar and wating staff, and a bustling clientele. Menus are presented on blackboards with not many frills but the food speaks for itself, Braised beef is something i would not usually order in any restaurant but it was recommended and i would certainly pass on the recommendation. Very tasty with a lavely dauphinoise. The course pate starter was not only excellent but easily enough for 2 to share. A wide variety of wines by the glass, carafe or bottle to suit all budgets. After the meal, sat back up at the bar enjoying cocktails, cognac and espresso.



2 very enjoyable meals. The tables are close together but do not dismiss this establisment because it is small. As they says, "Some of the best things....." etc.

PS Chocolate fondant was fantastic

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHooton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    292
    80
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looks like a dive but the food is great”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Walking to a restaurant in monmartre we passed the zebra. I had read that it was a good bet, my husband said"you're kidding". I said it was on a list that I hadread saying that it was a bistro find. Looks like a dive but food is very good in a fun funky atmosphere. Live music on weekends.
Carol G

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“5 stars for this fun, bohemian bistro with tasty food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Plase has a funky vibe and a fun staff. We got crammed in alongside other patrons on a packed tuesday night at 7pm. I enjoyed the meal, although now only a week later I can't exactly recall what I ate..... but I know I liked it at the time! :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dergondarkhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“perfect paris”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Lunch here was the highlight of a short business trip to Paris. Our host got to choose the restaurants, and he choose well (look for my other reviews around this time). We had a hard morning's work completed when lunch beckoned. A crisp bottle of Cote de Provence Rose started proceedings. Food was excellent - wish I could remember the name of the dish. It was slow cooked beef with an onion sauce. Delicious. Others had the hamburger (which looked great). The waitress serving these four middle aged guys stole our hearts and had us wrapped around her little finger.
Great place, great value and great fun And did I mention the waitress?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank santiagowalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Really good food and nice place”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This really is a fab place for an informal meal. Short but good menu to suit all tastes and nice wine plus really nice atmosphere make this a good choice for dinner if you are visiting Montmartre.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Un Zebre a Montmartre also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Un Zebre a Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing