We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every forkful was perfect!”
Review of Chaumette

Chaumette
Reserve with
Chaumette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,777 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $73
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Passy
Description: The Chaumette is a traditional French bistro near the New York Avenue in the 16th district of Paris. Photos of old bistros as well as modern art and antique style mirrors adorn the walls give the Chaumette a real atmosphere of an old fashioned Parisian bistro. The cuisine is flavoursome and copious, using fresh vegetables, meat and fish to create high quality traditional French dishes. Try a real French hotpot or some wild boar. The dessert menu is also varied and unavoidable tempting and the varied selection of wines may tempt you into trying something new.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Every forkful was perfect!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

You're not eating fast food, so don't behave as if you are. Sit back, relax with wine and starters, and chat with the friendly folks who take this very seriously but know how to make it fun, too. We ordered the tuna that was the fish of the day and it was delicious. The accompaniment of a side of roasted potatoes made our mouths water, and I highly recommend these. The chocolate mousse was wonderful. The other dessert, the name escapes me, was just as delicious. The decor is as charming as the staff. It is small so it's best to make a reservation or go early.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnG122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    64
    6
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcore, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food in a pleasant ambiance”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Situated in the 16th Arr. close to the northern end of the Pont de Grenelle. Pleasant cosy ambiance. A few tables outside on the wide pavement under an awning. Interesting, well prepared food. Avocado & crab mouse with wafer thin millefeuille. Lot medallions braised in creamy milk with 2 vegetable side-orders. Egg custard pastries with apricots served tepid. All for €50 per person excluding wine. Food arrived without delays. Impeccable helpful service. (Note that the vegetable side orders will each serve 2 portions).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The real Paris”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very typical Parisian restaurant. Very small, tables are next to each other, food is typically french. Escargot, ris de veau ...
Service is nice (although someone should say to the waitress that smiling at customers does not hurt business); wine list rather scarce for the kind of restaurant, mainly centered on Bordeaux wines.
Not the cheapest place either, prepare but still worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A quaint little restaurant!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our hotel, around the corner recommended this restaurant. It was a great place to have dinner. We enjoyed some lamb, fresh steak and great ambiance. A true french experience. Great staff, very friendly, who offered us some recommendations for our trip to bordeaux the next day. Such warm atmosphere. Great wine selection of course. Desserts were,.....well what you expect in France. Try to stop in if you are in the area. There are great eiffel tower views form the bridge just close by!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
155 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent experience, superb food and service”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had an amazing dinner at Chaumette last week. Everything was divine, from the moment I reserved ( very friendly person on the phone) We were greeted by several very friendly waitresses. They were " aux petits soins" with us during the entire meal. They immediately brought a bowl of fresh water for our little dog and took our coats.
The food was indeed superb. I had a vegetable soup with foie gras and my husband had a starter with black truffels...DIVINE. Our mains were equally very good; My fish ( plat du jour) was perfectly cooked with very fresh mushrooms and a very tasty sauce. My husband opted for the Pot au Feu which was one of the best he ever had. We shared a gorgeous chocolate dessert in the end just because we HAD to try it though we were quite full by then. Very good wines too. We will go back. Very cosy and romantic setting and the service was just beyond but not too much!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnBee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaumette also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chaumette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing