We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian food in Paris”
Review of Le Maharaja

Le Maharaja
Ranked #152 of 17,300 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $41
Cuisines: Indian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Batignolles-Monceau
Description: Sunday morning is closed thanks please note that our restaurant adapted for the europeen peoples
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian food in Paris”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great food though the place is cramped and a little gaudily done up, loved the road on which the hotel is situated,close to all shopping places.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gauroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    79
    23
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent small Indian restaurant nested in Les Batignolles area”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Very nice find in this up and coming to hip area of Paris (I grew up in this street, and I have seen the transformation over the last 10 years).
The Maharaja is a small, authentic Indian restaurant (I have been to India on business at least once a year for the last 7 years and I eat Indian at least once a month the rest of the year, often in London, so I do have comparison points).
The food is excellent (moist and tasty tandoori, flavorsome dal, nice naans, etc.). The spice level is toned down to accommodate typical French/European tastes, but the rich and subtle favors are kept.
As typical in good Indian restaurants, vegetarian options are varied and excellent (and so are the "non veg" ones of course :-)
The Maharaja seems to be a family run business, and the service is friendly and attentive.
The welcome complimentary papadom and aperitif are nice touches.
The decor of the small room (less than 10 tables) is nice and traditional, without being gaudy. This creates a warm intimate atmosphere.
Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Didier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Indian food at it's best!!!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My fiancé and I are tourists from South Africa and were missing the taste of homemade Indian food, we were referred to the Maharaja by many shops and when we tasted the food, we were extremely satisfied!!!! A must for any tourist wanting terrific Indian meals!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleHoosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“W owe Finally got the kind of food we have been looking for”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you are a Muslim or a vegetarian then you face little problem in some parts of the world to find real your kind of food. Indian and Pakistani food specially are very delicious. All over Europe folks look for these kind of restaurants and enjoy large variety of food. When in Paris I stayed in a hotel out of the down town so it was difficult to get 'my' kind of food. The tour took us to 'Eiffel tower' and after the river boat tour, it was time for lunch. Some one in the group told us to try 'Maharajah' which was not far form the area. We took off and my God it was an experience with all kind spicy, bar be ques and vegetarian food. If you are habitual of eating 'Roti' or 'Nan' {South Asian kind of bread}then any kind of food is not completed unless you eat 'Roti'.Maharajah provided us with all kinds of foods we were missing since a week. One can also find continental food in Maharajah too. Mr.Younes the owner of the restaurant paid personal attention and made sure that we should feel at home. It is a must experience if you are in Paris.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monnoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Maharaja also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing